This is the "Home" page of the "Education in America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education in America   Tags: education_in_america, ftce, nclb  

Current statistics & information on No Child Left Behind & the FTCE.
Last Updated: Nov 18, 2011 URL: http://libguides.polk.edu/educationinamerica Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Their pages may be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

4) A copy card MUST be purchased to pay for photocopying & printing. Both the Library & TLCC require this. It costs a $1.00 paper bill (American denomination) to purchase. Library & TLCC staff cannot make change, but the TLCC does have an ATM; change may be obtained through the Cafeteria or Bookstore.

It will start with $0.50 credit. More paper money (American denomination) can be added to it: $1.00, $5.00, $10.00, AND $20.00 bills only. No coins, debit cards, or credit cards accepted.

 

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College. Borrower ID is your Student ID number. PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number comes up Invalid or Expired, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

 

Login: PSC Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top right & click the black Library button.

3) On middle of left-hand side, below black Library bar, click Databases.

4) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number comes up Invalid or Expired, try again.

If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

5) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

6) Click on Connect to Database button.

 

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

 

Reference Books

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education: REF LB 15 .G68 2003

The Almanac of American Education 2004: REF LB 2846 .A45 2003

 

PSC Databases

Educator's Reference Complete: Multiple magazine/journal articles plus education reports.

On the search screen, first click on to documents with full text box below the search fields, then below that, click on the After option beside by publication date(s) & choose 31 December 2010. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics." NOTE: Each article has an MLA citation at the bottom of it, but you MUST change it to Chicago-style.

Education Full Text: Education articles from 1996 to present.

On the search screen, on the right-hand side below the Clear & Search buttons, first click on the Full Text box, then go to the left-hand side beside it & choose Within last 12 months. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics." NOTE: Articles & citations are generated separately. On your results list, clicking the article title, then clicking the Cite button on the top right corner, will display different citations, including Chicago-style. On the results list, clicking on Full Text below the article title will pull up the article on a new window.

ERIC: PSC's best education article database.

On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then beside it, change Date Published to January 2011 & November 2011. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics." NOTE: When choosing to print, e-mail, or save, the database can also generate a Chicago-style citation.

LexisNexis Academic: One-stop shopping for journal/magazine/newspaper articles, blogs, TV/radio/cable transcripts, statistics, etc.

On the first screen, choose Power Search at the top left-hand corner. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "FCAT AND Statistics." Below the search field, under the Specify Date menu, choose Previous 12 months or Previous year. Below that, choose the Geography link, then click on North America, then United States, then Southeast USA, & finally Florida. At the bottom, under the By Type menu, choose All News (English).

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Gigi Riggio (above image copyright NASA)
Contact Info
(863) 297-1042 x6207 or x4074
Lakeland Campus Library
3425 Winter Lake Road
Lakeland, FL 33803
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip