Skip to main content

Education in America: Home

Current statistics & information on No Child Left Behind & the FTCE.

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

 

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

3) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

4) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number comes up Invalid or Expired, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

Login: PSC Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top & click "Library/TLCC."

3) In the middle, click "Articles/Databases."

4) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number does not work, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

The Greenwood Dictionary of Education: REF LB 15 .G68 2003

PSC eBooks

PSC Databases

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale): Multiple magazine/journal articles plus education reports.

On the search screen, first click on to Full Text Documents box below the search fields, then below that, click on the After option beside by publication date(s) & choose 31 December 2010. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics." 

NOTE: To make a citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on the correct one.

Education Source (EBSCO): Education conference papers, ebooks, journals, and monographs.

On the search screen, click the Full Text box beneath the search fields. Below it, go to Published Date and limit your search fron January 2011 to the present date. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics."

NOTE: To make a citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then click on the correct one.

ERIC (EBSCO): PSC's best education article database.

On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then beside it, change Date Published frp, January 2011 to the present date. When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "Statistics." 

NOTE: To make a citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then click on the correct one.

LexisNexis Academic: One-stop shopping for journal/magazine/newspaper articles, blogs, TV/radio/cable transcripts, statistics, etc.

When you type in your topics, add at least one other term after "FCAT" or "No Child Left Behind" for specific results, such as "FCAT AND Statistics." Below the search field, under the Advanced Options menu, limit the Date on the top left corner from January 1, 2011 to the present date. Under Content Type on the bottom, click the Select All box to deselect everything, then click tne Newspapers box and the red Apply button.

Websites

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.