LibGuides: Internet of Things: Home

eBooks/Books

eBooks
Books

The Internet in Everything by Laura DeNardis
ISBN: 9780300233070
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
A compelling argument that the Internet of things threatens human rights and security. Internet of things--connecting everything from cars to cardiac monitors to home appliances--there is no longer a meaningful distinction between physical and virtual worlds. The social and economic benefits are tremendous, but Laura DeNardis argues that the diffusion of the Internet into the physical world radically escalates governance concerns around privacy, discrimination, human safety, democracy, and national security, and she offers new cyber-policy solutions. In her discussion, she makes visible the sinews of power already embedded in our technology and explores how hidden technical governance arrangements will become the constitution of our future.
The Internet of Everything by Nilanjan Dey (Editor); Gitanjali Shinde (Editor); Parikshit Mahalle (Editor); Henning Olesen (Editor)
ISBN: 3110628511
Publication Date: 2019-08-05
In the era before IoT, the world wide web, internet, web 2.0 and social media made people's lives comfortable by providing web services and enabling access personal data irrespective of their location. Further, to save time and improve efficiency, there is a need for machine to machine communication, automation, smart computing and ubiquitous access to personal devices. This need gave birth to the phenomenon of Internet of Things (IoT) and further to the concept of Internet of Everything (IoE). This book aims to present different aspects of IoE, challenges faced by IoE and its applications, divided into 8 chapters. This multifaceted coverage of the various verticals and IoT layers is the main attraction of this book.
Security and Privacy in the Internet of Things: Challenges and Solutions by J. L. Hernández Ramos (Editor); A. Skarmeta (Editor)
ISBN: 1643680536
Publication Date: 2020-03-12
The Internet of Things (IoT) can be defined as any network of things capable of generating, storing and exchanging data, and in some cases acting on it. The European Union's Horizon 2020 program was set up to explore available options and possible approaches to addressing the security and privacy issues of the IoT. This book presents 10 papers which have emerged from the research of the Horizon 2020 and CHIST-ERA programmes, and which address a wide cross-section of projects ranging from the secure management of personal data and the specific challenges of the IoT.

Click Here to Kill Everybody by Bruce Schneier
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation TK5105.8855 .S36 2018
ISBN: 9780393608885
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
The internet is powerful, but it is not safe. From driverless cars to smart thermostats, from autonomous stock-trading systems to drones equipped with their own behavioral algorithms, the internet now has direct effects on the physical world. While this computerized future, often called the Internet of Things, carries enormous potential, Bruce Schneier argues that catastrophe awaits in its new vulnerabilities and dangers. In Click Here to Kill Everybody, Schneier explores the risks and security implications of our new, hyper-connected era, and lays out common-sense policies that will allow us to enjoy the benefits of this omnipotent age without falling prey to the consequences of its insecurity.
The Driver in the Driverless Car by Vivek Wadhwa; Alex Salkever
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HM846 .W33 2017
ISBN: 9781626569713
Publication Date: 2017-04-03
Astonishing technological advances are arriving in increasing numbers. Scholar and entrepreneur Vivek Wadhwa uses this book to alert us to dozens of them and raise important questions about what they may mean for us. Breakthroughs such as personalized genomics, self-driving vehicles, drones, and artificial intelligence could make our lives healthier, safer, and easier. But the same technologies raise the specter of a frightening, alienating future- eugenics, a jobless economy, complete loss of privacy, and ever-worsening economic inequality. As Wadhwa puts it, our choices will determine if our future is Star Trek or Mad Max.
The Internet of Things by Andrew Karpan (Compiled by)
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation TK5105.8857 .I564 2022
ISBN: 9781534507722
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
As the number of digital devices used in daily life grows, it comes as no surprise that the next step in technological evolution is to conveniently interconnect these devices. This is where the Internet of Things fits in. The Internet of Things refers to all devices that are connected to the internet and share data on it, but there are numerous applications for this technology, ranging from smartphones to driverless cars. Despite the convenience smart devices offer, they also raise significant concerns about data privacy and security.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) This link opens in a new window Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
- This link opens in a new window
America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.

Internet of Things: Home

Welcome

eBooks/Books

Recommended Databases

Login Required

Ask a Librarian