Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Issues Research; ENC1102, Prof. Siler: Paper #2 Human Trafficking

Paper #2 Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking Paper

Shadow with hand on a pane of glass as rain falls form Getty/Metro.co.uk   Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking 

Paper Guidelines 

Write a 2 ½ - 4 page persuasive paper discussing a specific topic within the broad framework of Modern Slavery and Human Trafficking. Minimum length is a 5 paragraph essay.

Preparation and Presentation of paper:

This paper should be a synthesis of your research supporting your thesis.  You will need to cite at least 2 sources within your paper.  Include proper in-text citation and a correct Works Cited page.

Papers that do not include both parenthetical and bibliographic references to at least 2 sources will be returned to the writer for revision and assessed the standard late-penalty.

Prompt is addressed, and thoughts are developed in an organized essay.

Thesis and Insight - Discussion develops an arguable point, demonstrates insight, and exhibits understanding of the piece being discussed.

MLA guidelines followed

Ethical use of both primary source and secondary sources to provide evidence for discussion points

 

Almost done? Time for a fresh look at your paper.

Before you turn in your paper, take a moment to verify your paper meets these requirements from the grading rubric.

Does your essay:

  • Address the prompt, and thoughts are developed in an organized essay.
  • Discussion develops an arguable point, demonstrates insight, and exhibits understanding of the piece being discussed.
  • Follow MLA guidelines.
  • Ethical use of both primary source and secondary sources to provide evidence for discussion points

Consult the full rubric in Canvas for additional guidance.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Primary sources are the original materials of history.  They often provide first hand hand testimony or direct evidence of your research topic.

 

They can include: Diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records, case studies, statute, poetry, music, works of art, pottery, photography, furniture, clothing, buildings, tools, etc...

  (CC BY SA 2.0)

 

Secondary sources interpret and analyze the original event documented in a primary source.

They can include: books, textbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, book reviews, criticisms, commentaries, etc...

 

(CC BY SA 2.0)

Recommended Databases

Not sure which database to select to start your research? The databases below are the most likely to have information for this assignment. Not sure how to search? Check out the "Finding Articles" tabs (in red) at the top of this guide. The dropdowns illustrate how to search and gather citations in our most popular databases. 

NOTE: The library has begun shifting to Single Sign On (SSO) access with Open Athens. By March 2021, you will be able to access all library resources using your login information for Passport. Until then, you may still need to use your student ID as the Borrower ID and the last four digits of your ID as the PIN. 

Hover over the "i" to learn more about a particular database.


You might also want to try one or more of these:

Recommended Websites

These website might come in handy when starting to research your human trafficking topic. You are not limited to these websites, they are just a possible starting point.

Note: Refer to the "websites" tab in this library guide for guidance on selecting a reputable website.

Catalog and Database Search

AskALibrarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.