Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Issues Research; ENC1102, Prof. Siler: Paper #1 Invasive Species

Green Iguanas Edited Pixabay Photo
Head of Burmese Python Edited Pixabay Photo
Two Lionfish Edited Pixabay Photo

Paper #1 Florida's Invasive Species

Paper Guidelines 

Write a 2 ½ - 4 page persuasive paper discussing a specific topic within the broad framework of Florida's Invasive Species. Minimum length is a 5 paragraph essay.

  • This paper should be a synthesis of your research supporting your thesis. 
  • You will need to cite at least 2 sources within your paper. 
  • Include proper in-text citations and a correct Works Cited page.
  • Each body paragraph MUST cite at least one source. 

Only papers that include both parenthetical and bibliographic references to at least 2 sources will be evaluated. Papers that fail to include assigned research will be returned to the writer for revision and assessed the standard late-penalty.

What Information do I need?

First, select the species you will be researching.

Next, gather the facts: Species information: what, when to Florida, why, what happened, what is the threat, etc...

Then develop your thesis, decide what additional information you would like, and search some more.

  • Tip 1 - When searching, you will get better results using key words or synonyms instead of full sentences.
  • Tip 2 - Keep track of where the information you might use is coming from. Start creating a working works cited document in Word, even if it only includes URLS. 
  • Tip 3 - Use the library's databases when possible, emailing articles to yourself and copying the database generated citations as you go. This will save you a lot of work later!

See the paper organization guidelines (in Unit 1 of your course in Canvas) for suggestions on how to organize your paper.

Almost done? Time for a fresh look at your paper.

Before you turn in your paper, take a moment to verify your paper meets these requirements from the grading rubric.

Does your essay:

  • Explore a solution for controlling a species invasive to Florida.
  • Present specific details about how the species is a problem in Florida.
  • Develop discussion about possible control of the species.
  • Develop an arguable point.
  • Demonstrate insight into the details of the species' life in Florida.
  • Exhibit understanding of the complexities of controlling this particular species in Florida.
  • Follow MLA guidelines.

Consult the full rubric in Canvas for additional guidance.

Writing & Citing Tutors

Baby Yoda looking up. Text - Help I Need Somebody

FREE Tutoring is still available! 

Enroll in the Canvas tutoring course (this is a service NOT a graded class) by going to https://canvas.polk.edu/enroll/ENYJRB

Writing tutors are available to work with students on the writing process for Polk State College course assignments. During the interactive session, the tutors can assist with specific questions about the writing process, including brainstorming and planning, revising rough drafts, preparing citations, and formatting a document.

Tutoring is available to currently enrolled Polk State College students at no cost.

Tutoring schedules:https://www.polk.edu/teaching-learning-computing-center-tlcc/tutoring/tutoring-schedules/

Recommended Websites

These websites might come in handy when researching your invasive species topic. You are not limited to these websites, they are just a possible starting point.

Note: Refer to the websites tab in this library guide for guidance on selecting a reputable website.

Recommended Databases

The databases below are the most likely to have information related to invasive species. The top two are very eclectic databases. They have information on a wide variety of topics. The remainder have a narrower scientific focus.

NOTE: The library has begun shifting to Single Sign On (SSO) access with Open Athens. By March 2021, you will be able to access all library resources using your login information for Passport. Until then, you may still need to use your student ID as the Borrower ID and the last four digits of your ID as the PIN. 

Hover over the "i" to learn more about a particular database.

More options:

Gale & Ebsco Academic Database Tutorials

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in Gale, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the Gale databases Click Here! 

Image of a Gale search screen

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in EBSCO, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the EBSCO databases Click Here! 

Image of an EBSCO search screen

Catalog and Database Search

AskALibrarian

The invasive species photos on this page are courtesy of Pixabay.

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.