It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arts, Humanities, Communication and Design Pathway: Home
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer by Steven Heller; Veronique VienneBegin your graphic design career now, with the guidance of industry experts Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design. Interviews with leading designers like Michael Bierut, Stefan Sagmeister, and Mirko Ilic give readers an insider's perspective on career trajectory and a glimpse into everyday operations and inspirations at a variety of companies and firms. Design has become a multi-platform activity that involves aesthetic, creative, and technical expertise. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer shows readers that the field once known as "graphic design" is now richer and more inviting than ever before. Learn how to think like a designer and approach projects systematically Discover the varied career options available within graphic design Gain insight from some of the leading designers in their fields Compile a portfolio optimized to your speciality of choice Graphic designers' work appears in magazines, advertisements, video games, movies, exhibits, computer programs, packaging, corporate materials, and more. Aspiring designers are sure to find their place in the industry, regardless of specific interests. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer provides a roadmap and compass for the journey, which begins today.
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Beyond Talent: Creating a Successful Career in Music by Angela Myles BeechingWidely considered a classic, Beyond Talent is the "go to" guide for musicians. This newly revised and updated third edition cracks the code of how to build a creatively fulfilling career in music. With key insights into the mindset issues that often plague musicians, veteran career coach Angela Myles Beeching provides a wealth of strategies, examples, and real-world solutions. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, fund your projects, and cultivate a community of support so you can manage your career like a pro-without losing your soul. And this edition goes further: it unpacks how to deal head on with the typical "inner" challenges musicians face. From getting past perfectionism and fear, to sustaining motivation, finding your artistic voice, managing projects, time, and money, and setting achievable goals. With her straight-shooting, energizing approach, Beeching presents a wealth of practical solutions to help musicians take charge of their careers and get past the obstacles that have held them back. Whether you're an emerging artist or a mid-career professional, this edition offers the inspiration to transform your music career journey so you can get more of your best work out into the world and finally become the artist you are meant to be. Includes a free downloadable companion workbook.
Publication Date: 2020-01-13
Business Model You: The One-Page Way to Reinvent Your Work at Any Life Stage by Timothy Clark; Alexander Osterwalder; Yves Pigneur; Bruce Hazen; Alan SmithGLOBAL HIT*Finally, a book that shows you how to replace career uncertainty with career confidence, step-by-step Before they make important decisions, entrepreneurs, scientists, and other professionals maximize results and minimize risk by testing future scenarios using models. Now you, too, can use models to test career decisions: with the single-page visual method that's already helping hundreds of thousands of professionals worldwide. Careers were complicated enough before explosive changes swept the world, igniting even greater complexity and triggering uncertainty--along with hidden opportunities. All of this compels professionals to reinvent how they work. But how? The key is to draw a visual "picture" of your work--a model--that quickly gives you an entirely new understanding of what your work means to employers, customers, colleagues--and you. This model instantly triggers new insights and identifies next career moves you can make with confidence. Readers of the first edition of Business Model You will find this all-new, full-color book deepens their understanding of the method with new tools and techniques including the Work Model Canvas, Outward Focus, Third Objects, The Three Questions, the "Passion" Myth, the Valuable Work Detector, and Reasons to Choose You. Examples covering 50 occupations in both commercial and not-for-profit sectors are features, all alphabetically indexed at the front of the book. A global hit available in 20 languages, Business Model You pioneered the model-based approach to work reinvention that's been adopted for use by thousands of corporations, universities, and not-for-proit organizations worldwide. Want to replace career uncertainty with career confidence? Reinvent the most important model of all: Business Model You.
Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Computer Game Development and Animation: A Practical Career Guide by Tracy Brown HamiltonWelcome to the Computer Game Development & Animation field If you are interested in a career in the computer gaming field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Artist/Animator -Producer -Sound Designer -Video Game Designer -Video Game Developer -Video Game Tester -Writer
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Craft Artists: A Practical Career Guide by Marcia SantoreWelcome to the Craft Artists field If you are interested in a career as a craft artist field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the following fields. Tattoo Artists Ceramic Artists Glass blowers Blacksmiths Jewelers Woodworkers
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Culinary Arts: A Practical Career Guide by Tracy BrownWelcome to the culinary arts field If you're interested in a career in culinary arts, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers five main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Chefs Pop-up and traditional restaurant owners Caterers Media and art-related careers Bakers
Publication Date: 2019-07-12
How to Choose Your Major by Mary E. GhilaniGuide students through the career decision-making process as it pertains to college choices with this manual that helps students identify interest, skills, and values; conduct career research; and prepare for a profession after graduation. Entering the workforce after college can be scary to say the least, especially if a graduate is unprepared or ill-equipped to seek out an appropriate career path or job opportunity. This practical manual dispenses invaluable tips, strategies, and advice to students preparing for the job market by guiding choices impacting academic courses, fields of study, and future marketability. Author Mary E. Ghilani wisely describes how college majors relate to employment and introduces the eight "Career Ready" competencies sought by employers in new graduates. Written by a 25-year veteran in the field of career counseling, this guidebook helps students undecided about their future navigate the intimidating journey from college to career readiness. Content explores the best strategies and tips for choosing a career, ways to overcome common career indecisiveness, suggestions for careers based on personality type, and the latest employment projections and salary figures. Chapters for students with atypical circumstances--such as older adults, veterans, those with criminal records, and those with special needs--examine the unique paths available to them as they define their skills and launch their careers after graduation. Features personal career stories of several well-known individuals Introduces a five-step schematic that illustrates the career decision-making process Identifies the best careers for your personality style Lays out the steps involved in choosing a major Illustrates the relationship between college majors and careers
Becoming a Successful Illustrator by Derek Brazell; Jo DaviesGet ready to enter the working world of illustration with this freshly updated second edition of Brazell and Davies's Becoming a Successful Illustrator. This edition features even more 'Spotlight on...' sections, with advice from practicing illustrators as well as the people that commission them. You can enjoy added coverage in fields such as moving image, character illustration and social media. There are also new exercises to get you started planning and building your business, and over 200 inspirational examples of artwork, most of which are new to this edition. You can expect practical tips on how to seek work, how to market yourself and how to run your illustration business in an enterprising way, with advice that will prove useful long after your first commission. Building on the resources of the first edition, this continues to be the must-have guide to practicing professionally as an illustrator. Featured illustrators include: Millie Marotta Mark Ulriksen Natsko Seki Ellen Weinstein Stephen Collins ... and many more Featured topics include: Finding clients Agency representation Fields of work Financial and legal requirements Skills in art and design Self-promotion Showing work Managing your business
Careers in the Music Industry by Allison Blake (Editor)A musician might start by playing guitar in their teenaged bedroom, but the machinery behind their career is significant. Songwriters, composers, singers, all levels of musicians, and conductors train with individual teachers and often attend arts and music schools. Performance spaces managers and booking agents, sound engineers, promoters, and traveling crews are all crucial in bringing live performances to their audiences. On the business side, talent and business managers guide careers, and entertainment attorneys review contracts. The evolving recording business hosts a variety of careers as vinyl recording reemerge, and streaming platforms take the place of live performances due to the pandemic. Musicians in recording and digital media can also work on a range of projects such as recording radio and TV commercials or video game and film scores. Career options in the music industry are more varied than ever before, and technology just expands the field.
Call Number: Winter Haven and Lakeland Circulation; ML3795 .C37 2021
Publication Date: 2022-02-28
Creating a Successful Graphic Design Portfolio by Irina LeeBeing able to present yourself and your work in the best way possible is a necessary skill that all new designers must master before embarking on a career--be it freelance or working within a design firm. The author provides practical advice combined with insights and personal stories from leading design professionals. The book focuses on the practical aspects of creating a great portfolio such as what potential employers or clients look for in a portfolio, how to present yourself, dealing with criticism, replying to tough interview questions and more. A unique chapter called 'Portfolio Workshop (or Portfolio Clinic)' includes sample spreads from portfolios (good and bad) with critiques and helpful commentary from leading designers. The author also includes templates for cover letters, CVs, etc. Finally, a 'Toolbox' section will include sample prompts for frequently asked interview questions and a short section on running your own freelancing practice. All in all, everything to encourage and advise the new designer.
Fashion Design Course by Steven FaermJust as people change, so too does fashion. That's why it's so important to recognize newer teaching methods that will help you keep up with fashion trends and the ever-changing world of style. This latest edition of Fashion Design Course helps aspiring fashion designers learn about the fashion industry in a clear and practical manner. Starting with a brief introduction to the history of fashion and ending with real-world advice on obtaining a job in the fashion industry, in-between you will learn: How the digital age impacts education and the design process from research to the finished product Customer Profiles: demographics, psychographics, the role of advertising, and more Creating a unique vision with help from ethnographic research, design considerations, iconic films and their impact on fashion design, and developing a fabric story Cultivating your design collection through process and investigation while using Mood Boards, Garment Construction, sewing and fabric considerations, and more Producing your own collections with individual hands-on exercises based on frequently used concepts for building collections including Shipping Reports, Ethnic Backgrounds, 3D/2D, Concept to Runway, Shifts in Fashion, Accessories, and more Strategies and tips that will help you transition from coursework to a career in fashion including tips on resumes, interviewing, portfolio presentation, and more This updated book reflects the latest information in fashion design and development and is an ideal introduction for students, dressmakers, and anyone interested in the creative side of the fashion industry. Discover the new talent, new avenues of inspiration, and new outcomes that are now possible with a degree in fashion design.
I Can Get Paid for That? 99 creative careers to live a life less ordinary by Jo StewartStuck in a career rut--or finished studying and not sure which direction to take? This book will give you a path to a creative career. This book is both an inspirational and a practical guidebook, and it profiles 99 interesting, unusual, and relatively unexplored creative career options--from smoke jumpers to fortune-cookie writers, truffle hunters to food stylists, and golf-ball divers to perfumers. While some of the featured careers may not be for everyone (taxidermy, anyone?) others may be the perfect fit for someone's skill set, interests, talents, and curiosities. This book is an uplifting, positive guide for those that like to think outside the box. Think of it as the alternative career guide your guidance counselor was too afraid to talk about.
Photography Careers: Finding Your True Path by Mark JenkinsonPhotography Careers offers students an indispensable guide to beginning their professional journeys as photographers. This book presents the variety of career options available to those entering the competitive and comprehensive world of photography. With the insight and advice from industry mavens and the author himself, Photography Careers will help you change the way you evaluate your strengths as an artist and find your place in the photography community. Features include: Interviews with successful young professional photographer in a wide range of photographic specialties, from fashion photography to cinematography, and other industry related fields such as retouching, fine art sales, and photo editing Tips for how to find unique approaches in a saturated market Best practices for student looking at graduate programs, a budding career, and as a personal business
How these humanities graduates are finding jobs in Silicon Valley
Careers for people who are creative
Occupational Outlook HandbookThis link opens in a new windowThe Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information. It includes duties, education, training, pay, and job outlook for hundreds of occupations. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Gale: Vocations & CareersThis link opens in a new windowResearch a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.
Peterson's Career PrepThis link opens in a new windowWhether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.
O*NET OnLineThis link opens in a new windowProvides occupational information, including descriptors on hundreds of occupations.