Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSAMP: Accessing Databases

About this page

Topics covered on this page:

  • Why should I use Library Databases?
  • How to Access Library Databases - Video
  • How to Access Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) - Video
  • How to Access GreenFILE (EBSCO) - Video

Why should I use Library Databases?

Why Library Databases?

Library Databases are powerful research tools that offer users access credible peer reviewed scholarly articles & much more, with features for narrowing & optimizing the research experience.

 

The databases contain information on: Arts, Biographies, Careers, Videos, Newspapers, Magazines, Health & Medicine, Testing Resources, literature, etc.

For this research assignment, you will be working with Films on DemandGreenFILE, & Environmental Studies (Gale in Context)

Accessing Databases with Passport

Accessing library databases & other online resources in Polk State's library collection now require you to login with your student Passport credentials.

Environmental Studies (Gale in context) Tutorial Video

Why Environmental Studies (Gale in context)?

It is an ideal library database for your research project:

  • It offers authoritative content on environmental issues & much more. It contains news, overview information, video, primary sources, & statistics.
  • It provides citations in both MLA & APA format, making documenting your sources quick & efficient.

A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.

Access Environmental Studies (Gale in Context).

>

GreenFILE (EBSCO) tutorial (Video)

Why GreenFILE (EBSCO)?

GreenFILE (EBSCO) is an ideal library database for your research project:

  • GreenFILE provides nearly 14,000 articles covering humans positive & negative effects on the environment.
  • GreenFILE's articles come from scholarly, government & general interest sources.
  • It provides citations in both MLA & APA format, making documenting your sources quick & efficient.

Visit GreenFILE (EBSCO) & Search today!

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.