Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1101 - College Composition, Prof. Siler: Finding a Newspaper Article

This guide is designed to accompany "The Mask Debate" assignments.

Table of Contents

                                                           

 

 

Your assignment will require you to find an additional source outside of the ones included on the home page of this lib guide. On this page you will learn how to search for Newspaper articles in the Polk State
Library database collection.

ON THIS PAGE:

  • LOGGING INTO POLK STATE LIBRARY DATABASES
  • NAVIGATING THE DATABASE LIST
  • USING FLORIDA NEWSPAPER DATABASES

 

Logging In @ Polk State Libraries

LOGGING INTO YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT

Visit the Library home page to access Articles/Databases

COLLEGE: Make sure POLK STATE COLLEGE is selected in the drop down menu.
BORROWER ID = STUDENT ID #
PIN = LAST 4 DIGITS OF STUDENT ID #

Be sure to capitalize the letter in your student ID.

Your Library Account allows you to use access Polk State Libraries' databases, renew book loans, and request books from Florida's 28 state colleges and 12 state universities.

 


 

 

Accessing Databases

Polk State Libraries provide you access to over 100 databases.  They can be viewed alphabetically, in an A-Z list, or they can be filtered by subject. Click here to access the library databases! You login with your Passport account information.

AZ database list


 

Florida Newspaper Databases

FLORIDA NEWSPAPERS & AMERICA'S NEWSPAPERS (NEWSBANK)

Newsbank databases allow you to find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.

To Access NewsBank, Click Here!

 

 

ACADEMIC ONEFILE (GALE)

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

To Access Academic OneFile, Click Here!

 

 
Additionally, Here is a Sample Search to get you started (Be sure to log into the library databases before clicking the link)!

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.