LibGuides: Creating a Thriving Community: Research

Defining an ideal community

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
Sage Journals (Sage) This link opens in a new window SAGE is the worlds 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Starting terms to search:

ideal community
utopian society
just society

Related Ideas:

community support
resource allocation AND community

Sub-topic research of an ideal community

Research tips:

Connect synonymous terms with OR.
- For example: "sense of belonging" OR "shared values" OR cohesiveness OR collective OR unity
Connect unrelated ideas with AND. Use multiple search boxes to organize the search.
- For example:
  - Search box 1: "sense of belonging" OR "shared values" OR cohesiveness OR collective OR unity)
  - AND
  - Search box 2: society OR community OR utopia
Use quotation marks keep the phrase together. This is a useful search technique, but it can also be very hit or miss.
- For example: Try a search in Academic Search Complete database for "just society" and another search for just society (without quotation marks). Compare the results. Which do you find more pertinent to your research?
- Experiment by searching different ways in the same database, with or without quotes
- Using quotation marks and getting zero results? Remove them and try again.

Other things to keep in mind, remember this is a research-based paper. It is not an opinion paper (though you will be making claims and supporting them by research). If you make a claim (e.g. "national anthems are a necessary component to developing a sense of belonging in a community.") you need to back that up with a source (e.g. an article that discusses the national anthem and how it can provide a sense of unity prior to a sporting event or concert).

Also, remember that it is very rare to find that perfect article. If I am researching on the subtopics of "sense of belonging" and "engagement" and "service," it will be difficult for me to find an article that discusses all three. When searching, it is best to divide and conquer. It is generally more effective to search one subtopic at a time.

If you get stuck on another way to describe your subtopic idea, ask for help! Ask a librarian, classmate, your professor, anyone else who might have a different perspective-- a bit part of successful research is experimenting with a variety of search terms and searching multiple databases. Librarians have a lot of experience thinking up multiple ways to explain a concept. One of us may have an angle on your topic that you hadn't considered. Using your resources, including your Polk State College librarians, is encouraged! And, it will most likely save you lots of time!

Lastly, and very importantly, remember to start your research early and research often!