Skip to main content

ENC 1101-Profesor Murphy: Locating Articles in Databases

Resources for Professor Murphy's True Grit assignment.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.

AskALibrarian

What is a Database?

A very simple definition of a database -- A collection of information that can be accessed and searched through the Internet.

PSC subscribes to over 100 databases.  Many contain magazine and newspaper articles on a specific topic such as education, computers, psychology, etc.  Some, such as Academic Onefile and Academic Search Complete, cover a wide range of topics.  Dictionaries, encyclopedias and reference books are also available in database format. 

The databases are organized either alphabetically or by subject.  If you are not sure which database will be most useful. choose the subject listing, or consult with the librarian.

Logging into the databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (www.polk.edu/library-tlcc/).

From there, click on the link for Articles/DatabasesIf you're not already logged in, you will need to login using your student ID number as the Borrower ID and the last four digits of your student ID as the PIN.  

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically. You can also view the databases arranged by subject area by clicking the "By Subject" button. 

 

articles databases

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.