Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 College Composition I: Finding Articles

Professor Martinson - Informational Essay

Catalog and Database Search

Logging into the databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (www.polk.edu/library-tlcc/).

From there, click on the link for Articles/DatabasesIf you're not already logged in, you will need to login using your Passport login information.

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically. 

articles databases

 

Finding Articles

 What is a periodical article?

A periodical is a newspaper, magazine, journal... or anything that comes out "periodically" - weekly, monthly, bi-annually. The PSC Library has many periodicals.  Some are in "print" on the shelves and others (many others) are available electronically through the database - anytime/anywhere.

What Databases does PSC have?

PSC subscribes to many databases. Some are good for finding periodical articles, some are good for finding statistics, some are good for finding information on specific subjects (science, art, business).

Here is a list of some databases you might consider using:

  • Academic Search Complete
    Full-text periodical (newspapers, magazines, & journals) resource containing information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science and education.
  • Academic OneFile 
    A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
  • Nexis Uni 
    Full-text access to a wide range of periodical resources, primarily news, business, legal, and reference information. Medical & health; federal, state & international legal materials; corporate news & financial information, and more.

 

 

How Does Searching Work?

All the databases work a little bit differently, but basically, once you are connected you will get a screen that has 1-3 text boxes where you can enter whatever it is you are looking for.  It's very similar to searching the Internet using a search engine like Google except you are searching a specific database for specific types of information (newspaper articles, journals, statistics). 

Academic Search Complete is a database for periodicals - newspaper, magazine & journal articles.

Here is an example of Academic Search Compete search screen:

The full Text box has been checked and the drop down menu next to the search term -- hurricanes -- was changed to subject.  Both of these options limit the number of articles. You should receive a list of articles that match your search terms. 

The full-text articles will have a link that says "full-text".  If you click on the link, the whole article will be there for you to read.  You can print, email, and save articles.

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.