You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials.
If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652.
You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
NOTE: Currently-enrolled students have paid for PSC databases through their tuition
eBook Collection (EBSCO): Full-text of reference ebooks.
In the first field, type in "Renaissance;" more topics may be added in the other fields to narrow down your search, such as "architecture," "culture, " and "government." From the results list, choosing any eBook will split the screen into two frames. Right-hand frame will display the current page; Previous & Next buttons on the bottom will display the previous & next pages. On the left-hand frame, navigate using the Table of Contents (which usually includes an Index), or Search Within located at the top left-hand corner (to type in your own searches and generate a list of matching pages).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Encyclopaedia Britannica: Complete entries from Encyclopaedia Britannica, plus related magazine/journal articles & websites.
After typing in your search, the encyclopedia entries will appear in the middle of the screen; in addition, on the left-hand side, you may also access articles, ebooks, primary sources, and websites from EBSCO. Type in "Renaissance" as your search, then click on the first encyclopedia link in the middle of the results screen. On the bottom of each page is a list of more Britannica articles about specific Renaissance topics -- reference, history, philosophy, science/technology, people, etc. -- followed by good websites.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of the entry, click the check-marked box icon, then in the Select Citation Style menu, choose Chicago Manual of Style.
History Reference Center (EBSCO): Motherload of history-related information from reference books, encyclopedias, magazines, historical documents, multimedia, etc.
On the search screen, click on the Full Text box below the search fields. Then, to the right of it, go to the Timeline menu and select World History -- Renaissance and the Age of Exploration (1351-1600 CE).
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO): Full-text articles from history & culture journals, stretching back over a hundred years of publication.
On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Renaissance" for specific results.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, after choosing to print, e-mail, or save your article, go to the Citation Format menu, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities.
Salem History: Worldwide history database offering biographies of famous people from specific time periods.
First, go below the search field on the top left-hand corner to the Topic menu and select Western Civilization/European History, then type in "Renaissance" on top.
Virtual Reference Library (Gale): Complete entries from reference books put online.
Search for your specific topics by Keyword, available in the pull-down menus beside the search fields.
NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.
