Skip to main content

BSN Program: How to search databases

Information for students in and about the Bachelor of Science in Nursing program

Database Access

Polk State College students must use their Student ID number to access Library Databases and e-books. It starts with the first letter of your first name (Make sure it is capitalized), followed by a series of numbers after it.

The Borrower ID will be your full Student ID number with no dashes.

The PIN will be the last 4 numbers of your Student ID number.

If you do not know your Student ID number, or your number is "Invalid" or "Expired," please call (863) 297-1000, and ask for the Lakeland campus library.

Polk State College Career Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Click the green Library button on the top right.

3) On left-hand side, choose Databases.

4) Make sure top menu is set to Polk State College. Borrower ID is your Student ID #; the PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID #.

5) On top of the Database list, click the gray Subject button.

6) On top of the new Database list, choose Careers.

7) Best ones are Career Library and Occupational Outlook Handbook.

Ask-a-Librarian

Search EBSCO Nursing Reference Center

Nursing & Health Search
Limit Your Results

Search GALE Health Databases

Search PROQUEST Nursing & Allied Health Source Database

Articles, reference materials and video for nursing and allied health professions.

Allied Health Databases

Polk State College Databases by Subject offers a Health and Medicine category, which contains full-text articles, book information, and other resources useful to Allied Health students, faculty, and staff.

To access these databases:

1) Go to the Polk State College main site at http://www.polk.edu.

2) Click the "Library" button on the top right-hand side.

3) On the left-hand side, under the "Library" black bar, click on "Databases."

http://www.polk.edu/currentstudents/libraryandlearningcenter/Pages/default.aspx

4) Make sure the default library on top is set to Polk State College.

Your Borrower ID will be your Student ID number with no dashes.

Your PIN will be the last 4 numbers of your Student ID number.

5) On the top of the screen, above the Database list, click the gray "Subject" button.

6) Click on "Health and Medicine" halfway down the list.

7) Click on the database name. The most in-depth databases are:

   a) Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale): Full-text journal/magazine/newspaper articles for health, medicine, nursing, and psychology, along with reference book entries, medical encyclopedia entries, medical pamphlets, and videos. All articles may be printed or e-mailed.

   b) Medline with Full Text (EBSCO): Full-text journal articles for medicine, nursing, and the health care system. All articles may be printed, e-mailed, or saved to a thumb-drive/flash-drive.

8) Click on the blue "Connect to Database" button in the middle of the screen.

9) Before typing in your search, always click on the "Full Text" box first.

Examples of finding a Article

 

This is an example of finding articles in just one database -- Academic Search Complete.

From the screen pictured below, select Databases A-Z.  You will be asked to login and then directed to an alphabetical listing of databases.  

 



This is the search screen for Academic Search Complete.  In the illustration, the word "facebook" is being used as the search term.  The drop down menu to the right of "facebook" has been changed to Subject.

At the bottom of the illustration, the Full Text box has been checked so that the only articles that will be seen have the full article with them. 


Here are the first results of the 651 articles available. They are sorted by date with the newest first.  They can also be sorted by relevance with the most important articles coming to the top of the list.

 


This the beginning of the article from BusinessWeek Magazine relating to Facebook.  There is an abstract or summary included and the text of the article is just below.  On the header at the top of the illustration, you can see the options for printing, emailing, or saving the article.

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.