Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIT 1000 Introduction to Literature Prof. Murphy: Research

Poetry Essay Guide

Catalog and Database Search

Databases

 What Databases does PSC have?

For this assignment we suggest you use these databases:

 

  • Literary Reference Center Plus This database is your best friend for finding information on themes, meanings, style, etc. of your poem.  Select "Browse Works" from the opening page of the database.  Put the name of your poem in the search box.  The result - only one - will help you with many of the technical details of your essay.

  • Artemis Literary Sources  Use this database to find literary criticism of the poem  if your need to supplement what you have found  at the Literary Reference Center Plus.

  • Columbia Granger's World of Poetry  For the full text of a poem.

  • Academic Search Complete   Use this database only to locate journal articles from a journal called Explicator.  In the top search box enter the name of the poem, in the second the name of the poet, and in the third the word Explicator changing "Select a Field" to "SO Journal Name."

  

Books

This illustrates how to search for information about an author in the catalog.  This results of this search will include both books and ebooks.

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.