Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News This link opens in a new window
With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Rich collection of video available online for the study of American History, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles available. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Applied Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
Offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplinesfrom acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering. Focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.
Gale: Literature This link opens in a new window
Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Covering a vast array of the world's most influential people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers, Biography in Context is continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Guides readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests.
Gale: OneFile Business This link opens in a new window
Business Collection provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users can learn about the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications that are updated daily. Complementing these titles is a selection of international, U.S. and regional news publications, all available on the state-of-the-art InfoTrac platform. Business Collection is a comprehensive business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Resource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's website features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; articles published since September 1989; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Civil War: Sources in US History Online This link opens in a new window
Civil War: Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school, community college, and university students. Contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
This premier poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
A one-stop reference resource for up-to-date information on the world of technology. Featuring coverage from 1980 to the present, Computer Database is the perfect source for research on trends and innovations in the ever-changing world of technology.
Consumer Reports.org This link opens in a new window
ConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services. In addition to product ratings and reviews, users will find in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
eBook Collection (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
The Digital Collection is a sophisticated research platform comprised of reference, academic and general interest e-books. Titles come from titles from Praeger, Greenwood Press, and Libraries Unlimited. This is not just a collection of PDF downloads, but complete texts all searchable by keyword, subject, author, title, or any Boolean search method.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A rapidly growing collection of eBooks available via convenient Subject Sets that have been hand-crafted by collection development experts.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Explore the updated online encyclopedia from Encyclopaedia Britannica with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
This archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming videos from more than 800 producers covering a wide range of subjects. These videos include public performance rights and new titles are added monthly.
Florida Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from across the state of Florida.
Florida News Sources (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale's largest general-interest databases, with more than 8,000 titles (most in full text). Includes reference, newspaper, and audio content to complement the resource's robust collection of magazines and journals.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference available in the world. The Global Road Warrior covers approximately 121 topics on 175 countries.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, reference books, and searchable full text for current health pamphlets. A wide variety of subjects are covered, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive full-text history reference database. This database features thousands of primary source documents, informational texts, images, and historical video.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
This database offers worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source for information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics including criminal justice, ethics, federal law, international law, labor and human resource law, medical law, organized crime, the environment and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
Library, Information Science & Technology with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Lit Finder This link opens in a new window
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. Includes full-text poems, poem citations and excerpts, full-text short stories and novels, full-text essays, full-text speeches and full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete provides full text for periodicals covering an extensive range of subject areas including business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, fashion and much more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Coverage dating back to 1965.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles.
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times, covering the period from 1851-2007.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
A mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Nursing Education in Video gives faculty and students anywhere-anytime access to Medcoms highly regarded library of full-length training programsonline in streaming videowith all of the search power and advanced functionality that Alexander Streets video collections deliver.
O*NET OnLine This link opens in a new window
Provides occupational information, including descriptors on hundreds of occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information. It includes duties, education, training, pay, and job outlook for hundreds of occupations. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
OVID Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
This proprietary bibliographic data set indexes
hundreds of journals and periodicals from all over the world.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Presss Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This esteemed collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field - from cutting-edge research, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. It also includes all American Psychological Association published scholarly journals, many from Volume 1, Issue 1.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the worlds 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press award-winning health reference works. These general health resources include Magills Medical Guide. In its printed form, the current edition of the Guide has grown to five volumes and 3,500 pages.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press' award-winning, historical reference including: Countries, Peoples and Culture, the Decades Series, Defining Documents, Great Events From History, Great Lives from History, Innovators, and Issues in U.S. Immigration
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press' literature reference titles including: Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Cyclopedias of Literary Characters and Places, Introduction to Literary Context, and Magill's Literary Annuals.
Salem Science This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press' science reference titles including: Biomes and Ecosystems, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, and Principles of Chemistry
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides full text access on a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Comprised of hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the worlds most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Delivers a complete overview of our nations past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
Gale: eBooks This link opens in a new window
Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Experience an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people. Includes full-text journals, as well as thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.
World Religions Online This link opens in a new window
World Religions Online explores religion and spirituality in an objective manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today.
Writer's Reference Center This link opens in a new window
The new Writer's Reference Center provides users with a convenient one-stop location for all of the tools necessary to write and research effectively. From the mechanics of writing and grammar to style and research, this indispensable online resource thoroughly covers the fundamentals of quality writing and provides a wealth of vocabulary-building reference dictionaries.