Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLS 1101 - College Success, Prof. Good: Library Project

Library instruction companion for Pal Good's College Success courses. Includes library project instructions.

Contacting the Instructor

Professor Palmira Good
Pgood@polk.edu

Ask-a-Librarian

Library Projects

 Library Project

Library Project Choose one activity:

A. Develop a research paper on “How to respond to illegal questions asked by a potential employer during a job interview

Include the following in your paper:

      1. Identify the terms you used for to find the information
      2. Write at least 2 paragraphs to summarize the information you found.
      3. Include at least 5 questions that should not be asked during an interview
      4. Include examples of how the candidate should respond to the illegal questions
      5. Cite at least 3 library references with only one being an internet source, using the correct MLA format. 
        You must use library resources found in the lib guide set up for this course.

 

B.    Research a topic of your choice from another class or from the content we have discussed in this course.

Include the following in your paper:

      1. Identify the subject of your search and exactly what type of information you wanted to find
      2. Identify the terms you used to find the information
      3. Write at least 2 paragraphs to summarize the information you found
      4. How are you going to use the information you found?
      5. Cite at least 3 references with only one being an internet source, using the correct MLA format. 
        You must use library resources found in tbe lib guide set up for this course.

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Accessing Polk State Library databases (Occupational Outlook Handbook)

1.     Begin by going to www.polk.edu/library and click on Databases

2.     Next, Enter your Login: Borrower ID is Student ID # / Pin is the Last 4 digits of your ID #

3.     Then, click on By Subject and then click on Careers

4.     Now, click on Occupational Outlook Handbook

5.     After the web page loads, type your career topic in Search Handbook keyword field

6.     Browse your results

 

 

Note: If you don’t have a career topic in mind, you also can browse by occupation group, salary, education & other categories.

Citing Occupation Outlook Handbook in MLA style:

Format:

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. Career Title. Occupational Outlook Handbook. Date of publication. Web. Date of Access.

Example:

Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor. Librarian. Occupational Outlook Handbook. 8 Jan. 2014. Web. 17 Mar. 2014.

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.