Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
How to access the databases
The following databases can help with your research. Click the links to be taken directly to the database.
You will have to log in if you are not already.
Science in Context Science In Context features authoritative information covering all major science topics. Includes topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from noted publications, images and videos, detailed experiments from Experiment Central, biographies, and dictionaries.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Applied Science and Technology Offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content that covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplinesfrom acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering. Focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
GreenFILE This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
APA PsycArticles This esteemed collection from the foremost publisher in psychology provides access to the full spectrum of research in the field - from cutting-edge research, to the historical underpinnings of the behavioral and social sciences. It also includes all American Psychological Association published scholarly journals, many from Volume 1, Issue 1.