Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clear Springs Advanced Technology Center: Locating Articles in Databases

Information about Clear Springs Advanced Technology Center Programs and Library

Examples of finding a Article

This is an example of finding articles in just one database -- Academic Search Complete.

From the Library homepage, click on the Articles/Databases link.

 If you're not already logged in, you will need to log in using your student ID number as the Borrower ID and the last four digits of your student ID as the PIN.  

9 STEPS

1. The first step is to go to www.polk.edu and and click Library/TLCC (Tutoring)

Step 1 image

2. Click Articles/Databases. 

 Next you will be asked to log in. 

Step 2 image

3. Enter your student ID number as the Borrower ID. 

Use the last 4 digits of your student ID number as the password.

Step 3 image

4. This is the list of all of the databases.  

Click Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).

It's a good general database.

Step 4 image

5. This is the advanced search screen.

Step 5 image

6. Scroll down and click Full Text.

This will ensure that you get only full articles (rather than only abstracts).

Step 6 image

7. Scroll up and enter your search terms in the box(es).

Step 7 image

8. Click Search.

Step 8 image

9. This is the results page. You're done.

Step 9 image

Here's an interactive tutorial

https://www.iorad.com/player/1722634/How-to-access-the-library-databases-

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.