Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1102 College Composition II, Prof. Heintz: Using Databases

Contacting Your Librarian

Join the Conversation @ Polk State Libraries

Viewing Databases


Polk State Libraries provide you access to over 100 databases.  They can be viewed alphabetically, in an A-Z list, or they can be viewed grouped by subject. Click here to access the library database collection.

Databases A-Z (Alphabetical view)

Databases by Subject (Grouped by content of the database)


The databases contain, but are not limited to: Arts, Biographies, Careers, Videos, Newspapers, Magazines, Health & Medicine, Testing Resources, literature, etc.

Academic OneFile Tutorial

Academic OneFile is great for topics ranging in areas physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.


 Visit Polk State Libraries on youtube!

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. (GOOD RESOURCE FOR PSYCHOLOGY ARTICLES).

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.