Databases - LIT 1000 - Dulce et Decorum Est by Wilfred Owen: Prof. Fitzgerald

Suggested keywords

Here are some suggested keywords when searching the databases: Wilfred Owen, World War I, poetry, war poetry, Great Britain, "Great War"

If you need help coming up with keywords, email one of your librarians or use the Ask a Librarian chat service, both of which can be found on the Guide Main Page.

Suggested Databases

Check out these databases to find information on Owen and "Dulce et Decorum Est".

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
New York Times - Historical (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database has articles from the New York Times dating back to 1851.
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Experience an overview of world history that covers the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilizations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements, and people. Includes full-text journals, as well as thousands of images, videos, and audio selections.

You can also find reviews and criticism of Owen's work in these literature databases:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Artemis Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Lit Finder (Gale) This link opens in a new window LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. Includes full-text poems, poem citations and excerpts, full-text short stories and novels, full-text essays, full-text speeches and full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.

These two military databases will have information regarding World War I:

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles.
Military and Intelligence Database (Gale) This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Logging into the databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (www.polk.edu/library-tlcc/).

From there, click on the link for Articles/Databases. If you're not already logged in, you will need to login using your Passport login information.

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically.

LIT 1000 - Dulce et Decorum Est by Wilfred Owen: Prof. Fitzgerald: Databases

Suggested keywords

Suggested Databases

Logging into the databases