Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for offshore drilling research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Blowout in the Gulf: The BP Oil Spill Disaster and the Future of Energy in America by
Publication Date: 2010-10-18
On April 20, 2010, the gigantic drilling rig Deepwater Horizon blew up in the Gulf of Mexico, killing eleven crew members and causing a massive eruption of oil from BP's Macondo well. For months, oil gushed into the Gulf, spreading death and destruction. Americans watched real-time video of the huge column of oil and gas spewing from the obviously failed "blowout preventer." What was missing, though, was the larger story of this disaster. In Blowout in the Gulf, energy experts William Freudenburg and Robert Gramling explain both the disaster and the decisions that led up to it. Blowout in the Gulf weaves a fascinating narrative of failures, missteps, and bad decisions, explaining why this oil spill was a disaster waiting to happen -- and how making better energy choices will help prevent others like it.
Macondo Well Deepwater Horizon Blowout: Lessons for Improving Offshore Drilling Safety by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
"The blowout of the Macondo well on April 20, 2010, led to enormous consequences for the individuals involved in the drilling operations, and for their families. Eleven workers on the Deepwater Horizon drilling rig lost their lives and 16 others were seriously injured. There were also enormous consequences for the companies involved in the drilling operations, to the Gulf of Mexico environment, and to the economy of the region and beyond. The flow continued for nearly 3 months before the well could be completely killed, during which time, nearly 5 million barrels of oil spilled into the gulf. Macondo Well-Deepwater Horizon Blowout examines the causes of the blowout and provides a series of recommendations, for both the oil and gas industry and government regulators, intended to reduce the likelihood and impact of any future losses of well control during offshore drilling. According to this report, companies involved in offshore drilling should take a "system safety" approach to anticipating and managing possible dangers at every level of operation -- from ensuring the integrity of wells to designing blowout preventers that function under all foreseeable conditions-- in order to reduce the risk of another accident as catastrophic as the Deepwater Horizon explosion and oil spill.
Drilling Technology in Nontechnical Language by
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Author Steve Devereux has completely rewritten and updated this overview of onshore and offshore drilling operations and technology. He takes readers through the entire drilling process from basic drilling geology through managing drilling operations. The updated edition covers key management issues such as safety, the environment, costs, and regulations.
Should Drilling Be Permitted in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge? by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TN872.A7 S545 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
This book explores whether drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge is environmentally sound, safety implications of drilling in ANWR, the impact of drilling on Indigenous people and animals, whether indigenous people support or oppose drilling, and more.
The BP Oil Spill by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (TD427.P4 B65 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
Presents opposing viewpoints on such aspects of the oil spill as its effects on marine life and offshore drilling, and features topical model essays and writing exercises.
Natural Gas by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (TN278 .N38 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-01-09
The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. By choosing from such diverse sources and including both popular and unpopular views, the Opposing Viewpoints editorial team has adhered to its commitment to editorial objectivity. Viewpoints in this selection include if offshore drilling for gas should be permitted, the effects of offshore gas drilling on the economy and the environment, and the BP oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
GreenFILE This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) A new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.