Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the library guide for adoption research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
The Intercountry Adoption Debate by
Publication Date: 2015-02-01
Meaningful discussion about intercountry adoption (the adoption of a child from one country by a family from another country) necessitates an understanding of a complex range of issues. These issues intersect at multiple levels and processes, span geographic and political boundaries, and emerge from radically different cultural beliefs and systems. The result is a myriad of benefits and costs that are both global and deeply personal in scope. This edited volume introduces this complexity and gives voice to the many sides of the intercountry adoption debate-for, against, and the dimensions in between.
Broken Links, Enduring Ties by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Family-making in America is in a state of flux. The ways people compose their families is changing, including those who choose to adopt. "Broken Links, Enduring Ties" is a groundbreaking comparative investigation of transnational and interracial adoptions in America. Linda Seligmann uncovers the impact of these adoptions over the last twenty years on the ideologies and cultural assumptions that Americans hold about families and how they are constituted. Seligmann explores whether or not new kinds of families and communities are emerging as a result of these adoptions, providing a compelling narrative on how adoptive families thrive and struggle to create lasting ties.
Chosen for Greatness: How Adoption Changes the World by
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
The history of adoption is the history of the world itself. Children taken in by new families have grown up to dramatically reshape the world in ways most of us do not fully appreciate. Chosen for Greatness profiles 16 well-known adoptees who were given the opportunity to change history for the better when they were taken in by their new families. Their contributions and accomplishments span the spectrum from science to sports, religion to entertainment, technology to politics. These adoptees didn't accomplish what they didin spite of being adopted; rather, it was their adoption that played a positive and critical role on the road to their success. This unique book is an inspiration for the hundreds of thousands of US families who adopt each year and will forever change the way everyone understands the incredible global tradition of adoption.With a foreword by Eric Metaxas and an afterword by Larry King.
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV875.55 .R55 2012)
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
Inspired by the acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series, this series helps readers gain an awareness of current issues and develop critical thinking skills by presenting a wealth of information on contemporary issues in a colorful, easy-to-read format. The issues surrounding adoption continue to be debated. This title looks at how adoption should be viewed, what types of adoption should be encouraged, and at what policies should govern adoption.
Making Families Through Adoption by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV875.55 .R55 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-07-14
Making Families Through Adoption provides a comprehensive look at adoption practices both in the United States and in other cultures, and a general understanding of the practices and ideology of kinship and family. The subject of adoption allows a window into discussions of what constitutes family or kin, the role of biological connectedness, oversight of parenting practices by the state, and the role of race, gender, sexuality, and socio-economic class in the building of families. While reviewing practices of and issues surrounding adoption, the authors highlight the ways these practices and discussions allow us greater insight into overall practices of kinship and family.
Adoption Beyond Borders: how international adoption benefits children by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV875.5 .C636 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
International adoptions have decreased dramatically in the last decade, despite robust evidence of the tremendous benefits that early placement in adoptive families can confer upon children who are not able to remain with birth families. Adoption Beyond Borders integrates evidence from a rangeof disciplines in the social and biological sciences - including psychology, neuroscience, evolutionary biology, sociology, anthropology, and social work - to provide a ringing endorsement of international adoption as a viable child welfare option. The author interweaves narrative accounts of herown adoption journey, which involved visiting a Kazakhstani orphanage daily for nearly a year, to illustrate the complexities and implications of the research evidence. Topics include: the effects of institutionalization on children's developing brains, cognitive abilities, and socio-emotional functioning; the challenges of navigating issues of identity when adopting across national, cultural, and racial lines; the strong emotional bonds that form even withoutgenetic relatedness; and the methods in which adoptive families can address the special needs of children who experienced early neglect and deprivation, thereby providing a supportive environment in which those children can flourish. Striving to attain a balanced, evidence-based perspective oncontroversial issues, Adoption Beyond Borders argues that international adoption must be maintained and supported as a vital means of promoting international child welfare.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration — from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and women’s studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.