Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the library guide for childhood obesity research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Publication Date: 2018-06-30
Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Obesity is one of the defining health challenges of our generation. Studies project that, if current trends continue, more than 50% of the US population will have obesity within the next 20 years. Alarmingly, severe obesity appears to be increasing in prevalence faster than overweight or "routine" obesity. Illness associated with obesity, such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, steatohepatitis and sleep apnea, is experiencing a commensurate increase in prevalence and severity. The obesity health crisis threatens to overwhelm our health care system, shorten life expectancy for the first time in recorded history, and reduce quality of life for millions. The most successful and cost-effective approaches to this epidemic involve the prevention and treatment of pediatric obesity. Additionally, obesity is affected by a myriad of factors, including individual genetics, personal behaviors, family habits, school and community programs, state and federal policy, and environmental factors. Obesity is one of the most complicated disease processes pediatricians deal with. It is a disease that is brought about by a myriad of causes and a disease that affects nearly every organ system in the body. This collection will give you easy access to topics that help you manage this challenging disease.
5210 Pediatric Obesity Clinical Decision Support Chart by
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
Obtain the latest tools and practice recommendations from leading experts on how to tackle childhood obesity. Completely revised and updated, the third edition provides clinicians with point-of-care guidance on the assessment, prevention, and treatment of obesity in children older than 2 years. This convenient flip chart includes full-color illustrations throughout, providing health care professionals with practical support and guidance to help improve care and outcomes for all children. New in the 3rd Edition A custom, hand-based portion size estimation tool A "sample meal options" checklist In-office assessment of habits tool An algorithm for the assessment and management of childhood obesity in patients 2 years and older Pharmacological treatment of hypertension A sample "portion control placemat" Key Features Step-by-step prevention, assessment, and treatment interventions developed by the AAP Fifteen-minute obesity prevention and intervention protocol Hypertension evaluation and management guidelines Growth charts spanning birth to age 20 years, including body mass index-for-age percentiles ICD-10 coding information for obesity-related health services (ICD-10-CM) Weight reduction and management strategies And more!
Preventing Childhood Obesity in Early Care and Education Programs by
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
This coveted resource provides the latest national standards describing evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. The standards are for all types of early care and education settings--centers and family child care homes. These updated standards are a part of the new comprehensive Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards; Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 4th Edition. New in the 3rd Edition: Updated Standards Covering Active Opportunities for Physical Activity Playing Outdoors Written Nutrition Plan Protection from Air Pollution While Children Are Outside Availability of Drinking Water Feeding Plans and Dietary Modifications Care for Children with Food Allergies Preparing, Feeding, and Storing Human Milk and Infant Formula Feeding Human Milk to Another Mother's Child Cleaning and Sanitizing Equipment Used for Bottle Feeding Feeding Age-Appropriate Solid Foods to Infants Plus much more...
Obesity in Childhood and Adolescence by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RJ399.C6 O3352 2019
Publication Date: 2018-11-09
This updated edition of the groundbreaking first edition identifies changes in U.S. children and adolescents' obesity levels within the past decade, examining factors contributing to obesity in this younger generation as well as possible solutions. This comprehensive review of obesity in childhood and adolescence describes the many factors that contribute to obesity, how to prevent it, and how to manage it in those who already experience its effects. Written by specialists in biological, psychological, social, and behavioral fields, these volumes take an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, offering readers a broad understanding of the systemic complexity of obesity from a public health perspective. The public must be aware of the deep and extensive roots of the problem in order to make informed decisions about policies related to school and nutritional practices, health care costs, and more. Factors contributing to obesity in children and adolescents range from obvious ones such as quantity of food consumed and amount of physical exercise undertaken to how friendly the neighborhood environment is for outdoor activities and the affordability of nutritional foods such as fruits and vegetables. With the information in these volumes, readers will feel empowered to help their clients, families, and communities. Progressively reveals the systemic complexity of obesity Offers multidisciplinary and cross-disciplinary perspectives of obesity, to include disciplines such as medicine, psychology, geography, sociology, social work, civic engineering, education, and kinesiology Raises clear ethical and moral implications of individual and societal practices Links obesity to income and social disparities Details the effects of obesity on academic achievement, self-esteem, health, and lifespan
Always the Fat Kid : the truth about the enduring effects of childhood obesity by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RJ399.C6 W37 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-26
Childhood obesity in the United States has tripled in a generation. But while debates continue over the content of school lunches and the dangers of fast food, we are just beginning to recognize the full extent of the long-term physical, psychological, and social problems that overweight children will endure throughout their lives. Most dramatically, children today have a shorter life expectancy than their parents, something never before seen in the course of human history. They will face more chronic illnesses such as heart disease and diabetes that will further burden our healthcare system. Here, authors Jacob Warren and K. Bryant Smalley examine the full effects of childhood obesity and offer the provocative message that being overweight in youth is not a disease but the result of poor lifestyle choices. Theirs is a clarion call for parents to have "the talk" with their kids, which medical professionals say is a harder topic to address than sex or drugs. Urgent, timely, andauthoritative,Always the Fat Kid delivers a message our society can no longer ignore.
Childhood Obesity by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RJ399.C6 C47213 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
The At Issue series includes a wide range of opinion on a single controversial subject. Each volume includes primary and secondary sources from a variety of perspectives -- eyewitnesses, scientific journals, government officials and many others. Among the topics covered in Childhood Obesity: the role of government, health-care costs, fast food, parental responsibility, food marketing to children, and early intervention.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.