Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the library guide for domestic violence and abuse research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence and Abuse by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
An estimated 1,300 to 1,800 Americans are murdered by intimate partners each year. Far from being a problem that only impacts women, domestic violence hurts society as a whole both socially as well as financially, with an estimated direct and indirect cost of nearly $6 billion annually in the United States. This book provides a timely and thorough reference for educators, students, scholars and activists seeking to better understand the global issue of domestic abuse. The entries document the history of the domestic violence prevention movement, provide explanations for abuse, identify warning signs of hidden abuse, describe types of victims and offenders, and supply information on interventions and prevention programs. Written by an array of experts in the field, the book also integrates the personal stories of survivors and addresses abuse as a global issue by covering topics such as acid attacks and female genital mutilation.
Family Issues in the 21st Century : Gender Based Violence: Causes and Remedies by
Publication Date: 2012-04
This book analyses domestic violence against women, inflicted by the woman’s husband or cohabiting partner. The main focus is on physical violence and sexual and emotional violence is also dicussed. The term used to describe such violence is ”Gender Based Violence” (GBV). GBV is a problem in every country; in the world as a whole, there may be over a billion women who have experienced domestic violence from their husband or male partner. For many women, such violence is a regular occurrence, and is seen as normal by many women and men. This book uses scientific data collected by household surveys, and from crime statistics; it investigates not only the prevalence of violence, but also attitudes to such violence – the extent to which a woman, and/or her partner, consider domestic violence against women to be acceptable or even appropriate in certain circumstances.
Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts by
Publication Date: 2014-09-22
Overwhelmingly, it is women who are the victims of domestic violence and this book puts women's experiences of domestic violence at its centre, whilst acknowledging their many diverse and complex identities. Concentrating on the various forms of domestic abuse and its occurrence and manifestations within different contexts, it argues that gender is centrally implicated in the unique factors that shape violence across all these areas. Individual chapters outline the experiences of: Mothers Older women Women with religious affiliations Refugee women Rural women Aboriginal women Women in same-sex relationships Women with intellectual disabilities. Exploring how domestic violence across varying contexts impacts on different women's experiences and understandings of abuse, this innovative work draws on post-structural feminist theory and how these ideas view, and potentially allow, gendered explanations of domestic violence. Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts is suitable for academics and researchers interested in issues around violence and gender.
My Partner, My Enemy by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV6626.2 .L49 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-06-03
The problem of domestic violence and partner abuse knows no bounds, can affect anyone, and when kept silent and in the dark can become deadly. While domestic violence has greater social and legal visibility today then it did in the past, the problem still remains a massive and ongoing crisis. My Partner, My Enemy brings truth and reality to a matter that desperately needs to be addressed. So how do we help reduce and eliminate intimate partner abuse, especially when the public knows so little and much goes unreported? By exploring the severity of the problem through true case studies of violent and abusive men, and their motivations, Leventhal successfully brings to light the problem and ways to help.
Domestic Violence by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV6626.2 .D683 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-12-15
This book is a collection of articles in which authors debate whether domestic violence is a serious problem, whether teen dating violence is a serious problem, and whether economic downturns amplify problems that can lead to domestic violence.
A Troubled Marriage by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (KF9322 .G65 2012)
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
The current legal response to domestic violence is excessively focused on physical violence; this narrow definition of abuse fails to provide protection from behaviors that are profoundly damaging, including psychological, economic, and reproductive abuse. The system uses mandatory policies that deny women subjected to abuse autonomy and agency, substituting the state’s priorities for women’s goals. A Troubled Marriage is a provocative exploration of how the legal system’s response to domestic violence developed, why that response is flawed, and what we should do to change it.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration — from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and women’s studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.