Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for assisted suicide and euthanasia related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Dying with Dignity by
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Should terminally ill adults be allowed to kill themselves with their physician's assistance? While a few American states as well as Holland, Switzerland, Belgium, and Luxembourg have answered "yes," in the vast majority of the United States, assisted death remains illegal. This book provides a historical and comparative perspective that not only frames contemporary debates about assisted death and deepens readers' understanding of the issues at stake, but also enables realistic predictions for the likelihood of the future diffusion of legalization to more countries or states the consequences of which are vast.
Law, Ethics and Compromise at the Limits of Life by
Publication Date: 2012-09-10
A conflict arises in the clinic over the care of a critically ill, incapacitated patient. The clinicians and the patient s family confront a difficult choice: to treat or not to treat? Decisions to withdraw or withhold life-sustaining treatment feature frequently in the courts and in the world's media, with prominent examples including the cases of Charlotte Wyatt, in the UK, and Terri Schiavo, in the USA. According to legislation like the Mental Capacity Act 2005, the central issues are the welfare (or best interests ) of the patient, alongside any wishes they might have conveyed, via an advance directive or through the appointment of a lasting power of attorney .
At Liberty to Die by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Over the past hundred years, average life expectancy in America has nearly doubled, due largely to scientific and medical advances, but also as a consequence of safer working conditions, a heightened awareness of the importance of diet and health, and other factors. Yet while longevity is celebrated as an achievement in modern civilization, the longer people live, the more likely they are to succumb to chronic, terminal illnesses. In 1900, the average life expectancy was 47 years, with a majority of American deaths attributed to influenza, tuberculosis, pneumonia, or other diseases. In 2000, the average life expectancy was nearly 80 years, and for too many people, these long life-spans included cancer, heart failure, Lou Gehrig's disease, AIDS, or other fatal illnesses, and with them, came debilitating pain and the loss of a once-full and often independent lifestyle.
Understanding Assisted Suicide by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (R726 .M565 2007)
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Assisted suicide remains one of the most emotionally charged and controversial topics--and the issue isn’t going away any time soon. As the baby boomer generation ages, many of us will watch as our parents--and ourselves--grow older, and wonder at the decisions that lie ahead. Understanding Assisted Suicide provides both a fresh take on this important topic and the framework for intelligent participation in the discussion. The "nine-issue structure” allows both careful exploration of separate issues and a view of the full spectrum of ideas involved.
Assisted Suicide by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (R726 .A8533 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-04-06
This edition in the Current Controversies series explores whether or not assisted suicide should be legal and the morality issues related to the practice. The title also discusses the possible abuses carried out under the guise of assisted suicide.
Criminal Justice Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.