Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sex crimes research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Forensic Investigation of Sex Crimes and Sexual Offenders by
Publication Date: 2013-11-22
The investigation of sex crimes is a specific function for many law enforcement agencies, requiring an understanding of how to investigate, process crime scenes, interact with victims and offenders, and prepare for court. Drawing on new methods of investigation and the effects of such crimes on victims, Forensic Investigation of Sex Crimes and Sexual Offenders provides in-depth coverage in these areas, offering a valuable supplement for criminal justice courses and an accessible guide for law enforcement.
Sexual Violence and Abuse: An Encyclopedia of Prevention, Impacts, and Recovery [2 volumes] by
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Half a century after sexual violence and abuse was recognized as a social problem in the 1960s, we are still battling the same problems: Perpetrators are still sexually abusing children, raping women, and assaulting men, while the victims continue to struggle with feelings of immense shame, grief, and guilt, and are unsure where to seek help. In order to advance human society, further research on the causes of sexual violence and abuse is necessary in order to identify the most effective intervention techniques for specific cultures.
ABC of Domestic and Sexual Violence by
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
ABC of Domestic and Sexual Violence is a practical guide for all health care professionals who are looking after abused individuals (whether knowingly or not) and who wish to learn more in order to help their patients. It employs a positive and hands on approach, emphasizing simple history taking skills and clinical?tips? and pitfalls to help demystify what is often considered a sensitive or difficult subject area. This new ABC title covers background and epidemiology, including:international and cultural perspectives, common presentations, howto identify abuse, and guidance on subsequent acute and longer-term medical and psychosocial interventions. It provides guidance on legal perspectives including documentation and sources of help and advice. While focusing mainly on women, it will also cover aspects relating to children and men. It also incorporates victim testimonies and case scenarios throughout.
Sex Fiends, Perverts, and Pedophiles by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV6592 .L46 2011)
Publication Date: 2011-08-22
From Megan's Law to Jessica's Law, almost every state in the nation has passed some law to punish sex offenders. In Sex Fiends, Perverts, and Pedophiles, Chrysanthi Leon argues that, while the singular notion of the sexual boogeyman has been used to justify these harsh policies, not all sex offenders are the same and such 'one size fits all' policies can unfairly punish other offenders of lesser crimes, needlessly targeting, sometimes ostracizing, citizens from their own communities. While many recognize that prison is not the right tool for every crime problem, Leon compellingly argues that the U.S. maintains a one-size-fits-all approach to sexual offending which is undermining public safety.
When Women Sexually Abuse Men by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HV6561 .C663 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Revealing the shocking and detailed accounts of how adult women stalk, sexually assault, and even rape adult men, this book portrays an eye-opening reality: women can act as aggressive predators and victimize men. This book: details the rape trials of two women as well as other personal accounts and interviews, utilizes careful analysis of research to determine the extent of this crime by adult women against adult men, offers advice and counsel to victims, and provides surprising information that will be of value to law enforcement and corrections practitioners, social workers, business administrators, human resources personnel, academics in the fields of sociology, psychology, gender issues, and criminology, as well as general readers.
Sexual Violence by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV6556 .S445 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
This viewpoints collection explores the causes of sexual violence, the extent to which it is a problem, and the questions of how to address the issues of victimization, and how to reduce sexual violence in our society. It presents selections of contrasting viewpoints on four central questions about sexual violence: what causes it; whether it is a serious problem; how society should address it; and how it can be reduced.
Criminal Justice Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.