Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sexual harassment research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Stop Street Harassment by
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Street harassment is generally dismissed as harmless, but in reality, it causes women to feel unsafe in public, at least sometimes. To achieve true gender equality, it must come to an end. Stop Street Harassment: Making Public Places Safe and Welcoming for Women draws on academic studies, informal surveys, news articles, and interviews with activists to explore the practice's definition and prevalence, the societal contexts in which it occurs, and the role of factors such as race and sexual orientation. Perhaps more crucially, the book makes clear how women experience street harassmentaehow they feel about and respond to itaeand the ways it negatively impacts lives. But understanding is only a beginning. In the second half of the book, readers will find concrete strategies for dealing with street harassers and ways to become involved in working to end this all-too-common violation. Educators, counselors, parents, and other concerned individuals will discover resources for teaching about harassment and modeling behavior that will help prevent harassment incident
Sexual Harassment in Education and Work Settings by
Publication Date: 2015-08-26
Addresses current legal and psychological issues involved in campus and workplace violence, specifically sexual misconduct, and offers best practices for organizations seeking to prevent and respond to sexual misconduct. Provides an overview of current legislation surrounding sexual misconduct Examines the impact of sexual misconduct on individuals, bystanders, and organizations Offers recommendations for investigating complaints of sexual harassment and other forms of sexual misconduct in organizations and universities Presents invaluable insights into cultural views regarding sexual harassment Contains essays by campus and workplace consultants, lawyers, and other subject experts
Career Defense 101: How to Stop Sexual Harassment Without Quitting Your Job by
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Career Defense 101 offers women seven proven, actionable strategies that help end sexual harassment in their careers for good so that they can focus on work they love. Women are often told, "Things are really sexist, and all we can do is ignore it." Career Defense 101 does not accept that answer but compiles research and tools that have actually been proven to work in ending harassment and helping women advance in their careers. Women often work twice as hard as everyone else to get to the top of their field, yet sexual harassment can still make them feel trapped, afraid, and vulnerable. This may leave them wondering if they have a responsibility to other women in their field (or to other women in their family) to change a sexist environment. As a trial lawyer and coach, Meredith Holley uses what she has learned from her own experiences of overcoming harassment, stalking, and discrimination, as well as her legal experience, to help her clients. Even women who do not want to bring a legal claim for their harassment are able to use the strategies she teaches in Career Defense 101 to overcome sexual harassment and reach a new level in their careers.
Sexual Harassment by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HQ1237.5.U6 S475 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
This title explores issues related to sexual harassment, including: sexual harassment and staring; sexual harassment and power; the problem in shools; online sexual harassment; street harassment and legal regulation; confronting sexual harasssers; sexual; Students must often make informed decisions about serious issues that will affect the course of their lives. Focusing on topics of special concern to students, the Issues That Concern You series helps make these complex issues less intimidating.
Sexual harassment : an introduction to the conceptual and ethical issues by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HF5549.5.S45 D76 2012)
Publication Date: 2012
Sexual Harassment: An Introduction to the Conceptual and Ethical Issues covers the most important normative, conceptual, and legal issues associated with sexual harassment. Keith Dromm provides an insightful introduction to the theoretical and practical discussion, examining the most influential approaches to sexual harassment and offering his own analyses. Each chapter ends with review questions, discussion questions, and suggestions for group activities.
#Metoo : women speak out against sexual assault by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Young Adult -- YA HV6250.4.W65 M486 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-15
#MeToo was born in the wake of a ... New York Times investigative report on producer Harvey Weinstein's habitual sexual harassment of young women. The hashtag empowered women around the world to share their stories of sexual assault and abuse. Corporations responded by firing dozens of accused CEOs, media moguls, and movie stars, and politicians responded by sponsoring legislation against sexual harassment. This collection of articles tracks the movement from its start, [looking] at the international response and inevitable criticism, as well as the future of the movement
Criminal Justice Covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.