Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for sexuality related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
A Global History of Sexuality - The Modern Era by
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
A Global History of Sexuality provides a provocative, wide-ranging introduction to the history of sexuality from the late eighteenth century to the present day. Explores what sexuality has meant in the everyday lives of individuals over the last 200 years Organized around four major themes: the formation of sexual identity, the regulation of sexuality by societal norms, the regulation of sexuality by institutions, and the intersection of sexuality with globalization. Examines the topic from a comparative, global perspective, with well-chosen case studies to illuminate the broader themes.
Religion and Sexuality: Diversity and the Limits of Tolerance by
Publication Date: 2015-01-31
The relationship between religion and sexuality is often framed as inherently conflictual. But what actually happens when religion and sexuality converge in contemporary contexts? This provocative volume goes beyond the familiar debates over toleration and accommodation to explore the ways in which various forms of religious affiliation and sexual identity do, in fact, co-exist. Drawing on interviews and analyzing media representations, legislation, and public discourse on topics such as education, economics, and same-sex marriage in North America and the United Kingdom, this book foregrounds the complexity and multiplicity of religious and sexual identities and practices.
Supporting Gender and Sexual Diversity in K-12 Schools by
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
This book reviews timely, pragmatic interventions and strategies to support LGBTQ students in K12 schools. Where formal programs affirming diversity of gender expression and sexual orientation are not yet in place, contributors provide insights and practical tips for creating a positive, safe school environment. Topics include how stigma based on gender expression or sexual orientation can affect children and adolescents in school performance and risktaking behavior, and how schools can flip the narrative on bullying and victimization to one that promotes strengths and school connectedness. Teacher and school staff training issues are also addressed, along with suggestions for advocacy on the small scale and at local, regional, and state systems levels. In this book school counselors and psychologists, administrators, teachers, and other community stakeholders will find steps they can take to translate and implement the evergrowing body of scientific theory and research on equitable education of gender minority and sexual minority children, youth, and families.
Beat Gender Bias by
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Bias might be built in to how our brains work, but that doesn't make it acceptable. Recent advances in psychology and neuroscience have given us unprecedented insight into how biases interfere with good decision-making. When it comes to leadership, biases create a 'sticky floor', making it hard for women to rise to the top. The good news is that the change to gender balance can be accelerated if you know more about how bias works.In this book, Dr Karen Morley explains how biases, particularly the insidious unconscious ones, trip us up. She outlines an approach for minimising their impact in organisations, with Bias Busters - specific actions you can take with the goal of making it easier to notice, talk about and overcome bias.Beat Gender Bias is for leaders and all men and women who want a better working world. By creating an inclusive culture, organisations create personal, social and economic value that will sustain future success.This book makes it clear how you can make a difference and play a bigger, more satisfying part in creating a more inclusive world.
Gender, Sex and Sexuality by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- PN56.S5 G56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-13
So much of great literature centers on explorations of gender, sex, and sexuality. What does it mean to be a proper man or woman; what if one cannot be properly called either? Should one wield one's sexual power politically? What is the relation between law, divine or secular, and sexuality? These are just some of the questions that this volume examines through an analysis of a wide range of texts.
The Psychology of Sex and Gender by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (BF692 .B67 2019)
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The Psychology of Sex and Gender offers a full and vibrant picture of the field, providing students with contemporary examples, balanced coverage of men and women, and a grounding in psychological science. Meeting the needs of gender science today, the authors present classic and cutting-edge research findings, historical contexts, examples from popular culture, cross-cultural universality and variation, and coverage of non-binary identities. In keeping with the growing scholarship of teaching and learning (SOTL), in each chapter students are asked to think critically, to identify and evaluate their own myths and misconceptions, and to participate in real-world debates on topics at the forefront of the field.
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HQ18.55 .E75 2021)
Publication Date: 2021-01-02
The term "gender" was first distinguished from "sex" in the 1950s when psychologists began to discuss the idea of "gender roles," behaviors and responsibilities given to people by a society rather than flowing from their biology. Since then, leaders across disciplines have sought to better understand the roles of biology, psychology, and culture on gender. New language has emerged alongside rich scientific inquiry and research. Increased visibility of transgender and nonbinary communities has brought awareness to a range of gender diverse experiences, while legal battles, wage disparities, and health inequities continue to prove gender's relevancy in today's world. In this book, Laura Erickson-Schroth and Benjamin Davis guide readers through the knowns and unknowns of gender, asking questions such as: What is the difference between sex, gender identity, and gender expression? Were ancient societies matriarchal? How different are male and female brains, really? What role does language play in the ways we think about gender? What do we know about sex and gender in non-human species? What are the current frontiers in gender equality? Gender: What Everyone Needs to Know® is an easy-to-read guide that takes readers on a much-needed tour of perspectives on gender and identity in the 21st century. The book is written in a question-and-answer format, and Erickson-Schroth and Davis cover topics such as current definitions; the history of gender as concept; theÂrole of biology, psychology, and culture on gender; and gender norms over time and across the globe.
Gender in the 21st Century by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation (HQ1075 .E246 2020)
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
Once we understand that gender is distinct from sex, a whole world of possibilities open up, along with the potential for confusion. Shifting attitudes about the roles of men and women have allowed younger generations to refuse to be pigeonholed into conventional gender norms. As a result, the 21st century seems ripe for a gender revolution. The viewpoints in this volume approach gender from a variety of perspectives, providing readers with food for thought about where gender comes from, how we can make sense of its importance, and where it might be headed.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowOffers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural and headlines in world hot spots. It provides information seekers with a framework to better understand 21st-century issues and events while highlighting global connections and the interdependence of all nations.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.