Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for reality television research topics. Below you will find suggested ebooks/books and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Real People and the Rise of Reality Television by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The origins of, and in many ways the prototype for, modern reality programming can be traced to Real People, a show that premiered on the NBC network in April of 1979. McKenna also charts the rise of shows that aimed to duplicate Real People's success: That's Incredible , The People's Court, COPS, America s Funniest Home Videos, and MTV's The Real World. Though Real People was cancelled in 1984, reality-themed programming flourished. Real People and the Rise of Reality Television provides readers with insights into how and why one show changed the cultural landscape forever.
A Companion to Reality Television: Theory and Evidence by
Publication Date: 2013-11-18
International in scope, a Companion to Reality Television presents a complete guide to the study of reality, factual and nonfiction television entertainment, encompassing a wide range of formats and incorporating cutting-edge work in critical, social and political theory. Consolidates the latest, broadest range of scholarship on the politics of reality television and its vexed relationship to culture, society, identity, democracy, and "ordinary people" in the media.
Reality Television by
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Reality television has transformed into one of the most powerful forms of entertainment on television today. Using interviews with network insiders, reality producers, and other experts, Richard Huff supplies fascinating insights into the diverse content and often erratic development of reality television programming. From Queen for a Day through Extreme Makeover, from Cops to Fear Factor, the genre is placed before us in this exhaustive and many-sided account, an account that uncovers the foundations and the future potential of the compelling and dominating phenomenon that is reality television.
Reality Television: Reference Shelf by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (PN1992.8.R43 R385 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
This volume covers the evolution of reality programming; the rationale behind why viewers are drawn to reality programming; the celebrity culture that surrounds some of the most popular shows; the 'reality' behind reality programming, considering the ways some of the most reality-based shows are developed and, in some cases, manipulated.
Reality TV by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (PN1992.8.R43 R455 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-08-08
This title explores the place of reality television in society. Topics discussed include the impact of reality TV programming; issues of diversity/gender/stereotypes; and issues specific to children who appear on reality TV.
Authenticity and How We Fake It by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (PN1992.8.R43 D86 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
Reality-based media is seen as more authentic than the predominantly fictional media of the latter half of the 20th century. Yet much of reality TV and social media is known by both consumers and creators of content to be scripted or contrived. Addressing this problem deepens consumer engagement, as authenticity becomes a preoccupation driving the extension of a new media ethic of truth and savvy. This dynamic is key to understanding consumers' changing attitudes about the media they value. Reality TV, Facebook and YouTube have created a paradigm shift in the media landscape. Analyzing these three established platforms, sheds light on the complicated behaviors and choices of media consumers.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.