Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for nicotine/tobacco research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Tobacco Control and Tobacco Farming : Separating Myth from Reality by
Publication Date: 2014-09-15
The bulk of the world's tobacco is produced in low- and middle-income countries. In order to dissuade these countries from implementing policies aimed at curbing tobacco consumption (such as increased taxes, health warnings, advertising bans and smoke-free environments), the tobacco industry claims that tobacco farmers will be negatively affected and that no viable, sustainable alternatives exist. This book, based on original research from three continents, exposes the myths behind these claims.
Smoking : Health Effects, Psychological Aspects and Cessation by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This book presents current research in the study of the health effects, psychological aspects and cessation techniques of smoking. Topics discussed in this compilation include the vascular morphological changes related to smoking; the physiological consequences of smoking cessation benefits for the respiratory and cardiovascular systems; how weather might affect smoking related health behaviours; adolescent smoking and health research and predictors of smoking cessation in a population of pregnant smokers.
Bad Acts: The Racketeering Case Against the Tobacco Industry by
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
On January 20, 1999, President Bill Clinton announced in his State of the Union address that the Justice Department was planning to sue the tobacco industry and assigned the task to Attorney General Janet Reno and the Justice Department. This book is the story of that case - the politics, the litigation, the behavior of the industry and its lawyers, the efforts by the Bush Administration to gut the case, and the ultimate victory in court. Bad Acts tells the story, not yet fully revealed, of what was happening behind the scenes at the Justice Department as the case approached victory, when the Bush Administration intervened, with some success, to protect Big Tobacco. The book examines the political influences and interferences of and by Clinton Democrats and George W. Bush Republicans. It is a candid behind-the-scenes account of how the case was put together, how the industry attempted to halt the case, and how it ultimately was won by the Justice Department.
Tobacco and Smoking by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV5760 .T623 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Tobacco use is a serious problem / US Department of Health and Human Services -- Tobacco sales are declining / Federal Trade Commission -- Teen smoking is a serious problem / American Cancer Society -- Teen smoking is declining / L.D. Johnston [and others] -- Secondhand smoke is dangerous / Frances Robert Lato -- The dangers of secondhand smoke are exaggerated / Edmund Contoski -- Increasing tobacco taxes would reduce tobacco use / Campaign for tobacco-free kids -- Increasing tobacco taxes would have unintended consequences / Diana Oprinescu -- Protect people from tobacco smoke / World Health Organization -- Smoking bans are misleading / Ronald Bayer, as told to Sarah Clune -- Raise the smoking age to 21 / John Kruzel -- Raising the smoking age to 21 is pointless / Eric Levenson -- Time for e-cigarette regulation / Lancet Oncology -- Smoking kills, and so might e-cigarette regulation / Gilbert Ross -- It is too early to federally regulate e-cigarettes / Thomas A. Hemphill -- It is too early to determine e-cigarettes as a safe alternative to smoking / Christopher Wanjek -- Smokeless tobacco is a safer alternative to smoking / Carl V. Phillips -- Smokeless tobacco should be included in smoking bans / Centers for Disease Control and Prevention -- Tobacco marketing influences youth smoking / Center for Public Health and Tobacco Policy -- Tobacco marketing does not influence youth smoking / Patrick Basham -- Smoking in movies influences youth smoking / Smoke Free Movies -- Smoking in movies should not be censored / Ruby Hamad -- Tobacco companies do not promote smoking in movies / Philip Morris USA -- Plain packets will remove the appeal of smoking for young women / University of Western Sydney -- Plain tobacco packaging would have unintended consequences / Michel Kelly-Gagnon and Youri Chassin.
Brain-Robbers: how alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates have changed human history by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RC564 .F73 2014)
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
A psychiatrist examines how the world's four most important mind-altering substances- alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates-have played a significant role throughout human history, and explains how these powerful drugs affect the brain and cause addiction. * Presents a historical review of four plant-derived drugs-alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates-and their effects throughout human civilization, as well as a fascinating exploration of the mystery and misery of addiction * Provides comprehensive explanations of medical and psychiatric effects of these drugs * Supplies stories of people who made discoveries about these drugs or who had their lives altered by them * Describes the discovery of the way in which the brain works * Includes illustrations of brain pathways and of the four plants of origin for these drugs, and maps showing drug trade triangles
Tobacco: the story of how tobacco seduced the world by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation -- SB273 .G29 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-06
"Long before the arrival of Columbus, the indigenous peoples of the Americas cultivated and enjoyed tobacco, using it for medicinal, religious, and social purposes. But with the dawn of the age of colonization, tobacco became something else entirely - a cultural touchstone of pleasure and success, a coveted commodity that would transform the world economy, and the cause of (and collateral for) revolutions that would bring forth the birth of nations and the end of empires." "In Tobacco, Iain Gately charts the epic history of humanity's fascination with our favorite recreational drug, from its obscure beginnings among ancient civilizations, through its rise to global prominence, to its embattled state today. Gately argues that it was the driving force behind the development of global trade, as the foundation of the Dutch mercantile empire, the fulcrum of the African slave trade, and the financial basis for our victory in the American Revolution. He also traces the global evolution of the plant's use: how the sacred calumet of the Plains Indian tribes became adopted by samurai warriors in Japan; how Napoleon's armies spread the cigarette as they conquered the European continent; and how purveyors developed filter-tips and mentholated cigarettes in the late twentieth century as the detrimental health effects became increasingly known."
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale eBooks Gale Virtual Reference Library offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.