Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for steroids related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Steroids and Doping in Sports by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The use of performance-enhancing drug use in sports is never out of the news, whether it's cycling, baseball, Olympic sports, or mixed martial arts. Interestingly, the use of steroids to boost human performance stretches back to ancient times. Written by a former professor of chemistry, "Steroids and Doping in Sports: A Reference Handbook" provides not only information about all aspects of performance-enhancing drugs in sport, but also supplies a thorough, scientific background about the drugs themselves the chemistry and biology of steroids, what scientists have learned about these substances, and the specific ways in which they affect the human body.
Steroids: A New Look at Performance-Enhancing Drugs by
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Sports fans or not, readers will be fascinated by this revealing examination of the pressures leading to the widespread use of steroids in sport and the negative, unintended consequences of their ban. * A comprehensive history of steroid use in Olympic sport and the policy decisions related to their proscription
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RM297 .S74 2014 )
Publication Date: 2014-04-25
A thorough, balanced examination of the controversies on the therapeutic and non-therapeutic use of steroids that covers both legal medical therapy and illegal performance enhancement. * Examines the historical trends leading to steroid use as part of social attitudes and problems related to self-image, competitiveness, and aging * Provides a thorough discussion of policy responses to steroid policy issues such as law enforcement and illegal trafficking, safety guidelines for medical practitioners, and unique considerations for youth protection * Includes a host of related primary document resources that support the discussion on steroid use * Supplies a detailed chronology of the major relevant events in steroid history, starting from the first discovery of synthetic versions of testosterone and including all major scandals in professional sports
Run, Swim, Throw, Cheat: : the science behind drugs in sport by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland & Winter Haven Circulation (RC1230 .C59 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-05-16
Drugs in sport are big news and the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sport is common. Here, Chris Cooper, a top biochemist at the University of Essex, looks at the science behind drugs in sport. Using the performance of top athletes, Cooper begins by outlining the limits of human performance. Showing the basic problems of human biochemistry, physiology, and anatomy, he looks at what stops us running faster, throwing longer, or jumping higher. Using these evidence-based arguments he shows what the body can, and cannot, do. There is much curiosity about why certain substances are used, how they are detected, and whether they truly have an effect on the body. Cooper explains how these drugs work and the challenges of testing for them, putting in to context whether the "doping" methods of choice are worth the risk or the effort. Exploring the moral, political, and ethical issues involved in controlling drug use, Cooper addresses questions such as "What is cheating?", "What compounds are legal and why?", "Why do the classification systems change all the time?", and "Should all chemicals be legal, and what effect would this have on sport?".
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven (RC1230.W35 2008)
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Discusses the use and dangers of steroids and other performance enhancing drugs used by athletes and discusses safer ways to achieve the same results.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Gale: eBooks Virtual Reference Library. Gale eBooks offers reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more. Numerous subject areas include the arts, business, education, history, law, literature, multicultural studies, the sciences and world religion.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.