Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUN 1201 - Nutrition Research: Advanced Search-Databases

Tips

Most databases have an advanced search feature.  Below is the typical advanced search screen for an Ebsco database.  Other databases may look slightly different but should have the same features. 

Below are the steps that will give you the best results for this class and assignment:

1. Check the box for Full Text (gives you only full articles, rather than just abstracts).
2. Check the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
3. Enter a date range in Published Date (enter the date requirements of this assignment).
4. The final step is to enter your search terms in the search boxes at the top. 

Once you have a list of results, you can start examining them to see if they meet the requirements of your assignment and chosen topic. To view the full text, look for the PDF Full Text or HTML Full text icons. 

Recommended Databases

To get started, choose one of the databases below.  Once you log in, enter your search terms to start looking for primary articles. 

Advanced Search

Step 1: Type in your search terms. This example uses: Diet OR nutrition

Step 2: Select your limits. In this example: Full text, Research Article, Published Date, and Peer Reviewed 

Step 3: Search

Have questions or not finding what you need? Use the Ask a Librarian to get assistance with searching. 

 

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.