Skip to main content

Jewell ENC1101-Fort Meade: Databases

Library Databases

You will often hear about databases in academic libraries. Library databases are an important resource for researchers, both student and professional, and understanding how they work will make your library research in the future easier and more productive. So what is a library database? A database is just a searchable collection of information. We use different kinds of databases every day. Apple’s iTunes is a database of songs, movies, and tv shows you can purchase. Amazon.com is a huge database of products for sale. Even your cell phone includes a database of family and friends’ names and phone numbers. Library databases are collections of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and other kinds of digitized research material. 

© 2017 Joyner Library, ECU.
Adapted from: Information Literacy Concepts: An Open Educational Resource
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BYNC-SA 4.0)

Introduction to Library Databases

This video will illustrate how to locate the Polk State College Library databases.

GreenFILE database tutorial

The video below will give you an introduction to searching the GreenFILE database. 

Video courtesy of Seminole State College Library.

Login Required

You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.

Polk State Library Databases

Suggested databases for this paper:
(Click the link to be taken directly to the database)

Ask-a-Librarian

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.