Business Model You: The One-Page Way to Reinvent Your Work at Any Life Stage by
GLOBAL HIT*Finally, a book that shows you how to replace career uncertainty with career confidence, step-by-step Before they make important decisions, entrepreneurs, scientists, and other professionals maximize results and minimize risk by testing future scenarios using models. Now you, too, can use models to test career decisions: with the single-page visual method that's already helping hundreds of thousands of professionals worldwide. Careers were complicated enough before explosive changes swept the world, igniting even greater complexity and triggering uncertainty--along with hidden opportunities. All of this compels professionals to reinvent how they work. But how? The key is to draw a visual "picture" of your work--a model--that quickly gives you an entirely new understanding of what your work means to employers, customers, colleagues--and you. This model instantly triggers new insights and identifies next career moves you can make with confidence. Readers of the first edition of Business Model You will find this all-new, full-color book deepens their understanding of the method with new tools and techniques including the Work Model Canvas, Outward Focus, Third Objects, The Three Questions, the "Passion" Myth, the Valuable Work Detector, and Reasons to Choose You. Examples covering 50 occupations in both commercial and not-for-profit sectors are features, all alphabetically indexed at the front of the book. A global hit available in 20 languages, Business Model You pioneered the model-based approach to work reinvention that's been adopted for use by thousands of corporations, universities, and not-for-proit organizations worldwide. Want to replace career uncertainty with career confidence? Reinvent the most important model of all: Business Model You.
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major by
The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Careers in Protective Services by
People who work in protective services may work with children, the elderly, disabled individuals, or animals. They may find work as part of security teams in the community or on school campuses; law enforcement and the judicial system; and health and human services organizations. Protective service workers may deal with criminals, victims, or survivors. There are a wide range of career possibilities for those wanting to work in protective services, including: Victim advocate, Campus security, Social worker, Animal control, Foster care, Elder care and Immigration officer.
Criminal Justice Professionals: A Practical Career Guide by
Welcome to the criminal justice field If you are interested in a career in criminal justice, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Criminal Justice Professionals: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Security guards/officer -Correctional officer -Parole/probation officer -Police officers/detectives -Criminal court prosecutors/judges
First Responders Handbook by
The objective of this handbook is to make available in a quick reference form, the information to enhance and support the response capabilities of firefighters, emergency medical technicians, hazardous materials response teams, law enforcement officers, bomb squads, medical doctors and nurses, emergency managers, schools, and others. This handbook is dedicated and committed to disaster prevention, preparedness, readiness, response, mitigation and recovery efforts. This is an ideal book for newcomers to the field, and can be used for fast knowledge for application to any areas of response.
Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice by
Driven by changes to clinical practice, new evidence-based research, and shifts in global economics and politics, the field of paramedic science is rapidly evolving. This new edition of Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice offers students and recently qualified practitioners an accessible and comprehensive introduction to paramedic science and pre-hospital care, providing expert and up-to-date guidance on the essential theories and real-world practice of this dynamic area of emergency medicine. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, this user-friendly textbook provides broad and inclusive coverage of topics including professionalism, law and ethics, assessment skills, research methods, pharmacology and more. Contributions from experienced paramedics and clinicians, contemporary case studies, full-colour illustrations and powerful pedagogical tools help students gain a thorough understanding of the essential components of paramedic practice. Employs a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to the study of paramedic practice, presenting theoretical and clinical topics in a straightforward and student-friendly manner New chapters on toxicology, medical terminology and low acuity care in paramedicine, with an increased focus on mental health Includes new end-of-chapter learning activities and quizzes, case studies and references, charts and diagrams Fundamentals of Paramedic Practice: A Systems Approach is an invaluable resource for undergraduate paramedic and emergency care students as well as qualified paramedics, clinicians and educators seeking an authoritative reference on current practice.
Making Sergeant: The Biggest Leap in Law Enforcement by
Whether you are just pondering if you should go for the gold or are already radar-locked on getting there, this book, MAKING SERGEANT, is for you. Written by a veteran police chief with over 50 years of law enforcement experience, 15 of them spent as a sergeant, it contains practical advice for (1) deciding on whether you are ready for the job and (2) getting it and succeeding at it if you are. Short on theory and long on pragmatic advice, the text also will help the already-promoted supervisor successfully meet the challenges of this complex but vital position. As most law enforcement agency CEOs will acknowledge, first-line supervisor or sergeant is often the single most important position in the police organization. Without the best efforts of the highly competent man or woman wearing the stripes, the organization is destined to flounder in relative ineffectiveness. In the worst-case scenario, the agency may fail. In other words, the sergeant has got to get it right. This book will help you decide if you want to be that sergeant. If you do, it will help you be him or her. If, at least at this stage of your career, you decide that the answer is no, that's fine, too. There is not a law enforcement agency anywhere that has enough talented first-line officers. Your goals may change later. But if you choose to go for it, the tips contained in this book will help you get there. If you are already a supervisor, MAKING SERGEANT will help you get better at what you are already doing.
Paramedic: A QuickStudy Digital Reference Guide by
Essential quick reference for both the paramedic student and the practicing field provider. This 6 page durably laminated guide compliments many textbooks and highlights key points that you may be asked on the National Registry or state exams. Organized according to the key categories identified in the US Department of Transportation guidelines for paramedic studies it clearly and concisely covers areas that have traditionally caused students angst, such as medication mathematics, acid-base balance, and cardiology. Includes what field providers will face during testing and practice while focusing on some real-world examples from current state protocols to solidify core concepts. Developed by William (Bill) Dino, MS, NRP, former instructor for ACLS, PALS and CPR, professor of paramedicine and current owner of Red to Black editing, his experience as an educator and author has provided a powerful tool to help those who have made it their mission in life to help others. This guide is by far the least expensive and powerful tool you need so add it to your toolbox to help in study or practice. 6 page laminated guide includes: Introductory Concepts Death and Dying Health and Nutrition Ethics Duty to Act Medical Direction Continuing Research Injury Prevention Medico-Legal Issues Regional, State, and Federal Agencies Regulatory Agencies Licensing and Certifications Good Samaritan Laws Patient Restraint Patient Transport Patient Refusal of Transport Resuscitation and Cessation of Resuscitation Terminology and Documentation Body Systems Overview Cell Structure Tissue types Body Systems Acid-Base Balance Physiology & Pathophysiology Medical Trauma Airway Pharmacology Interactions Special Considerations Drug math Infusions Fluid Infusions over Time Behavioral Emergencies General Principals Suicidal Ideation Delusions Anxiety Schizophrenia Psychosis
Careers in Law Enforcement by
People interested in law enforcement work can find jobs in their hometowns or virtually any other area in the nation. Careers in Law Enforcement has realistic descriptions of how police officers, FBI agents, crime science investigators, and other law enforcement officers do their work. It has statistics on future growth in various jobs and compensation workers receive.
Careers in Criminal Justice by
Careers in Criminal Justice, Second Editionprepares you to plan, pursue, and realize your career goals--from conception through the hiring process. Coy H. Johnston's contemporary approach emphasizes self-reflection and pragmatism in the pursuit of self-fulfillment and professionalism. With coverage of over forty careers in policing, courts, corrections, and victim services, you receive a comprehensive overview of the most popular and growing careers in the field. Self-assessment tools enhance your self-awareness and steer you toward realistic and suitable careers in criminal justice. This easy-to-read guide is organized to prepare and encourage growth throughout your career. New to the Second Edition: A new chapter titled "Volunteering and Internship"(Chapter 9) guides you through the important process of early involvement in the field to create a more enticing resume. Three new "Guest Speaker" profilesoffer you new perspectives and practical advice on a variety of careers and geographical areas. New career assessment toolsare included to help you evaluate your compatibility with various careers in the criminal justice field. Expanded information about critical areas such asprivate prisons, careers in the judiciary,and resume building ensures that you are receiving a balanced introduction to criminal justice careers.
Careers in Forensic Science by
Forensic science is the application of science to the legal field, including criminal and civil laws, during criminal investigation. Forensic scientists -- also called criminalists -- perform chemical and physical research on evidence submitted by law enforcement agencies, including handwriting analysis to confirm the validity of a signature on a will, or examining a firearm, and the growth of technology has expanded the field. These professionals also provide testimony in courts of law. Careers in Forensic Science draws from many specialists, including toxicologists, attorneys, pathologists, biologists, dentists, toxicologists, document examiners, psychiatrists, anthropologists, criminalists, educators, digital and multimedia scientists, engineers and applied scientists. Humanitarian and human rights workers also have a place in the field and are recognized by the Academy of Forensic Sciences.
So You Want to Be a Cop: What Everyone Should Know before Entering a Law Enforcement Career by
Many children, from the time they are old enough to be attracted to a siren and flashing lights, dream their whole lives of becoming a police officer. As a retired police officer, herself, Alley Evola looks at the daily ins and outs of the job of a police officer. From recruitment, life at the academy, patrol and eventually promotion, she provides a helpful understanding of what you can really expect. She also looks at the current issues, including race and gender, and how these have shaped certain expectations from the public that a police officer needs to be prepared for when working in this field. When you're young and dreaming you don't think about the process it will take to become a police officer. And it's also not evident until after the police academy the many challenges and issues you will face in the field. So You Want to Be a Cop is for everyone who secretly wishes they were a police officer, or is pursuing their dream in hopes of transforming it into reality.
Careers in Law Enforcement by
Careers in Law Enforcementis a valuable resource for students considering a career in the criminal justice field, specifically in policing. Written in a concise and conversational tone, author Coy H. Johnston includes three main sections: planning a realistic path, selecting an appropriate career path in law enforcement, and preparing for the hiring process. The first chapter offers students a unique opportunity to take a personality/career test to help them discover the types of jobs that might be a good fit. Consequently, students will set sensible goals at the beginning of their degree program and seek appropriate internships and volunteer opportunities. This text is a helpful resource students will be able to peruse repeatedly when they are ready to start the process of applying for jobs within law enforcement.
Police and Detectives Career Video
Firefighters Career Video