It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Pathway: Home
Planning for a Career in Biomedical and Life Sciences by Avrum I. GotliebPlanning for a Career in Biomedical and Life Sciences:Learn to Navigate a Tough Research Culture by Harnessing the Power of Career Building, Second Edition, presents useful information, insights and tips to those pursuing a career in the biomedical and life sciences. The book focuses on making educated choices during schooling, training, and the job search in both the academic and non-academic sectors. The book's premise lies in the notion that if users understand the full path of a career in either the biomedical or life science fields, they can proactively plan their career, recognize any opportunities that present themselves, and be well prepared to address important aspects of their own professional development. Topics include choosing a training path, selecting the best supervisor/mentor, and negotiating a job offer. Updates to this edition include an outline of core competencies to achieve success, how to build soft skills and tailor them to specific job opportunities, and how to increase collaborations across disciplines. Additionally, coverage on issues around diversity, health, wellness and work/life balance are expanded. This book is a valuable resource for undergraduate, graduate, medical and postdoctoral students in the biomedical and life sciences, as well as academic faculty and advisors.
Publication Date: 2018-06-02
Computer Game Development and Animation : A Practical Career Guide by Tracy Brown HamiltonWelcome to the Computer Game Development & Animation field If you are interested in a career in the computer gaming field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Artist/Animator -Producer -Sound Designer -Video Game Designer -Video Game Developer -Video Game Tester -Writer
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Information Technology (IT) Professionals: A Practical Career Guide by Erik DaffornWelcome to the Information Technology (IT) Professionals field If you are interested in a career as an Information Technology (IT) professionals you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Technical Support Staff -Programmers -Web Developers -Systems Analysts -Network Architects -Security Analysts
Publication Date: 2020-01-15
Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Overview
Zoologists and Wildlife Biologists
Occupational Outlook HandbookThis link opens in a new windowThe Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information. It includes duties, education, training, pay, and job outlook for hundreds of occupations. The Handbook is revised every two years.
Gale: Vocations & CareersThis link opens in a new windowResearch a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.
Peterson's Career PrepThis link opens in a new windowWhether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.
O*NET OnLineThis link opens in a new windowProvides occupational information, including descriptors on hundreds of occupations.