Skip to main content

INP 1390 Human Relations, Prof. Oguntola: Home

Welcome !

This research guide will explain how to find and cite library materials appropriate for your research paper assignment for Professor Oguntola.

Select the tabs at the top of the guide to explore those topics.

APA Information & Resources

Select the image below to view our APA Library Guide.

Database and Catalog Search

AskALibrarian

Contacting Your Instructor

Professor: Andy Oguntola

AOguntola@polk.edu

Recommended Databases & How to Access Them

Accessing Polk State College's Library Databases: 

Image (gif) of login screen

  • Visit the libraries’ website www.Polk.edu/Library 
  • In the middle of the screen, select Articles/Databases  
  • The Borrower ID is your student ID (A12345678)  
  • The PIN is the last four numbers of your student ID (5678)

TIP: Sort databases by Subject to list the Business related databases together.

 

 

Recommended Databases for this assignment: 

Business (Gale OneFile)

Citing your article:

  • Find an article and open.
  • Click on “Cite” button at top of screen.
  • Select APA 6th Edition link at top of popup citation box.
  • Highlight APA citation.
  • Copy and paste (Merge Formatting) into Word document for References page.
  • VERIFY for accuracy (use citation generators as a starting point).

Sample Search in a Gale Database:

Sample search in a Gale database

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Citing your article:

  • Find an article and open.
  • Click on “Cite” button on right side of screen.
  • Highlight APA citation.
  • Copy and paste (Merge Formatting) into Word document for References page.
  • VERIFY for accuracy (use citation generators as a starting point).

Sample Search in an EBSCO Database:

Image of EBSCO Academic Search Complete Search

Business Insights: Essentials

Citing your article:

  • For MOST items in this database (Company Chronology, SWOT Reports, Investment Reports, etc...) - No Citation generator
  • There ARE citations for many of the Academic Journals...
    • Select the citation tool (image of spiral notebook) in the upper right corner
    • Select APA
    • Download
    • Copy and paste (Merge Formatting) into Word document for References page.
    • VERIFY for accuracy (use citation generators as a starting point).
 

 

Assignment

Each student will be asked to select a major organization within the United States of America. Examples: Walmart, Publix, Exxon, etc… You will need to email me your company selection for approval. As no two students will be able to have the same company. (First come-first serve)

Upon selection your task is to write a 5-page paper and PowerPoint presentation which will include the following:

  • History of organization
  • Number of Employees
  • Organization Culture
  • SWOT analysis
  • Human Relation Issues
  • Overall Thoughts & Conclusion

Note: All references must be sited, and the 8-10 pages does not include title page, references, and table of contents. In addition, this paper will need to be completed in APA format.

This assignment will be due Feb 18, 2020

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.