Education Databases - LAE 3414 - Children's Literature, Professor Hubbard

Accessing Library Databases

Students and staff, here are a few simple steps that will enable you to access our Polk State College Library's databases:

(1) Go to the Library/TLCC home page by clicking the Library/TLCC link at the top of the Polk State College home page.

(2) On the Library/TLCC home page, select the Articles/Databases link.

(3) You will see an alphabetical list of Polk’s databases. Scroll down the list and select the title (link) of the database you wish to use.

(4) You may see either the screen below or the sign in screen for Passport next. If you see this screen, select Student Login - Sign in at Polk State College. Then, use your Passport credentials to sign in.

Note: For faculty and staff, select staff login.

(5) Sign in using your Passport credentials. Your Student ID number & Password (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Additional information about Passport: https://www.polk.edu/wp-content/uploads/Student_PASSPORT_Help.pdf

Note: For faculty and staff, use your staff email credentials on the Office 365 sign in screen (image not shown below).

Note: You may need to login again if you switch to a different browser OR close your current browser window.

Having difficulty signing in? Receiving error messages?

If you are having difficulty signing in as a student with your Passport credentials, try clearing the cookies & cache in your browser, using a private browser window, or a different browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge).

Recommended Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians. Topics covered include best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, instructional media, language arts, science & mathematics, school administration, and more.
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, this database provides scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

LAE 3414 - Children's Literature, Professor Hubbard: Education Databases