MAN 3240 - Organizational Behavior, Prof. Oguntola: Home

My name is Shannon and I am one of the many librarians here at Polk State College. Feel free to contact me anytime through the link in Canvas or directly via email (sschane@polk.edu) with any library related questions you may have. If you would like immediate assistance, you can chat or text with one of our Polk State librarians M-Th 8am-7pm, F 7:30am-4pm, & Sat 9am-1pm here: https://bit.ly/AAL_Polk

This library guide will explain how to find and cite library materials appropriate for your research paper assignment for Professor Oguntola.

Select the tabs at the top of the guide to explore those topics.

Search Polk State College's library resources here:

Professor: Andy Oguntola

AOguntola@polk.edu

Accessing Polk State College's Library Databases: 

• Visit the libraries’ website www.Polk.edu/Library 
• In the middle of the screen, select Articles/Databases  
• After selecting a database you will most likely be prompted to sign in using your student credentials for Passport: Your student ID AND your Password for Passport (default password = two digit month and two digit year of your birth.

TIP: Sort databases by Subject to list the Business related databases together.

Recommended Databases for this assignment: 

Additional Databases that Might be Useful:

• Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press) - Background information about countries and culture
• Global Issues (Gale in Context) - Offers a global perspective on issues of international importance
• Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) - Newspaper articles from papers around the globe

INDIVIDUAL APPLICATION PAPER/Global Focus

Guidelines of the application Papers:

Problem analysis- Select an actual problem/ issue from a global organization or corporation.  Please identify global issues such as interacting in a local culture, the conflict between social culture and organizational culture, and how this affects a global/international organization. Gather information on the problem and integrate the information from all your sources into an analysis of the central issues you have identified. Your writing should focus on problem (or problems) identification and evidence supporting your interpretation of the problem (or problems). You should offer solutions for the issue(s)/problem(s).

Application of Organizational Behavior Theories and Concepts: Select theories and concepts from the organizational behavior textbook that offer guidance in solving these problems. Justify your choice of theories and explain their relevance. The textbook is a starting point, but you must not rely solely on your textbook as a source of information about organizational behavior. Peer reviewed articles are required.  Be sure to include a list of references with your paper.

Suggested Solutions- Outline the steps that the key decision-maker(s) should take and justify your suggestions. Your suggested plan of action must be derived from the theories you have discussed. In some cases, you must develop a solution that integrates across more than one theory. Your plan of action must be specific and include enough detail that the decision-maker(s) could begin implementation.

Specifications for the Final Application Paper

 USE ANY THEORIES AND CONCEPTS FROM CHAPTERS 1- 17 IN THE TEXTBOOK AND RELATE /APPLY TO YOUR CHOSEN ORGANIZATION

• Type report using MSWord ®

• Title Page with Title of the assignment, Students’ Names, Date, Course, & Instructor’s Name

• Table of Content format
• Length of report: minimum 5-7 pages, double spaced, text font size 12 (titles and headers maybe 12-16). The title page, table of contents, abstract, references, and appendices are not included in the 7 pages
• *APA style (6th edition)
• Appendix format (research information, charts, graphs or others visuals should be placed in the Appendix section, when appropriate)
• Bibliography (sources of information, cited references, etc.) 
  • Peer Reviewed Journal Articles (see list example provided)
  • The textbook can be used as a reference
  • Students must use a minimum of 5 sources. Three must be Peer Reviewed sources, one may be the textbook, and one may be any source available. The minimum is 5, but it is recommended to have 10 sources (“A” quality papers normally cite 10-15 different sources)

Individuals will use a minimum of 5 sources for the application paper. An acceptable list of Academic Journals is provided in the syllabus. The journals are available online through the PSC library. Papers will be evaluated for content, style, spelling, grammar and punctuation. (Papers must be “A” work in order for an “A” to be awarded.)

Application papers will be graded using the Application Grading Rubric on the last page of your class syllabus.

* APA format is discussed comprehensively at http://www.APAStyle.org and you can find additional resources (including an easy to use APA template at http://libguides.polk.edu/apa  Note: You will be using APA 6th edition in this class