Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Database Tips 101: Home

Find quality information in less time

Being told to "use the library's databases" (instead of websites) may sound scary, but it's really not. Actually it can be much easier than doing a Google search.

Let's Do This!    Where are the databases?

 

How do I log in? 

1. Select Student Login (if you see the screen below and are NOT faculty or staff)

Open Athens Choose how to sign in (staff or studen

 

2. Enter your Passport credentials. 

Your Student ID number & Password (default password = two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Note: You may need to login again if you switch to another browser or close your browser window.

Passport Sign in Screen "Login with Student ID & P

 

If you are having difficulty signing in as a student with your Passport credentials AND a librarian is unavailable to assist (or you want to view our old database list), select this link for Articles/Databases

OLD LINCC login: Use your student ID number as the Borrower ID and the last 4 digits of your student ID as the PIN. (Note: Polk State must also be selected in the drop-down menu for College).

No More Fear!

  • Sort Database list by Subject (drop down near the top)
  • Search within specific databases by typing keywords into the search box(es)
  • To view - select the title (blue link)
  • Use Tools to e-mail, print, or generate a citation

 

Gale & Ebsco Tutorials

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in Gale, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the Gale databases Click Here! 

Image of a Gale search screen

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in EBSCO, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the EBSCO databases Click Here! 

Image of an EBSCO search screen

AskALibrarian

Eeny Meeny Miny Mo!

We have access to approximately 110 databases @ Polk State.  Where should you start?

* Narrow down which database to use by sorting them by subject or asking a librarian.  

Here's a direct link to all of our databases: Articles/Databases

Select the "All Subjects" drop down near the top of the page (to sort by subject)  

Image of Database List A-Z 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Listed below are links to the 12 databases with the highest successful search rate (most views of full-text articles after performing a search) over the past 6 months @ PSC.  We've categorized them by the information you are most likely find in them for your convenience :)

Great 1 Stop Shops (for Almost Any Topic)

Great for Information on Controversial Topics

Information About Authors & Their Works

Nursing Research Must Haves

Super for Psychology (a Go-to for Nursing & CJ)

Infographic of Gale and EBSCO Databases at PSC

I Miss the OLD Database List - Can I Still Use It?

Our old database list via LINCC will be available and functional through Summer Term 2021, but it will NOT be updated. This means some database links may be broken and some newer databases will not be included. 

You can access the LINCC A-Z list here: Articles/Databases

OLD LINCC login: use your student ID number as the Borrower ID and the last 4 digits of your student ID as the PIN. (Note: Polk State must also be selected in the drop down menu for College).

* Narrow down which database to use by sorting them by subject or asking a librarian.  

Select the gray Subject button near the top of the page (to sort by subject)  

Image of databases sorted by subject 

 

View (or hide) the databases within each subject category by selecting or -

 

 

 

 

You may also use this LINCC site if you are having difficulty signing in as a student with your Passport credentials AND a librarian is unavailable to assist.

Note: The LINCC credentials are also what you will use to place holds on physical books until July 9, 2021.

Librarian

Shannon Schane's picture
Shannon Schane
Contact:
Polk State College
999 Ave H NE
Winter Haven, FL 33881
863-298-6813

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.