Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIT1000 Intro to Literature, Prof. Rivers: Home

Book Spines of Fiction / Literature Titles
Literature Word Cloud

Welcome!

This research guide will explain how to find and cite library materials appropriate for your literature assignments for Professor Rivers.

Select the tabs at the top to explore additional topics in detail.

Database and Catalog Search

Works Cited - MLA 8 Format Tutorial

This 7 minute video tutorial will walk you through formatting a Works Cited page that already includes database generated citations.

Note: Adding a running head is not covered in this tutorial. It was omitted to save time as this video was created to be one in a series made by various librarians. The running head on a works cited page, in MLA's 8th edition, should consist of your last name and page number, aligned to the right corner in the header.

Contacting Your Instructor

Professor:  Bryan Rivers

BRivers@polk.edu

AskALibrarian

Recommended Databases

The databases below can help you critique poems, short stories, and plays. They may include plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, full text of literary journals, book reviews, classic & contemporary poems, classic & contemporary short stories, full text of classic novels, author interviews, and images of key literary figures.

Hover over the "i" to learn more about a particular database.


Recommended for biographical information:

eBooks & Books that Might be Useful

Accessing the Polk State College Library Databases

To access the Library's databases, start at the Library's homepage (https://www.polk.edu/library-tlcc-tutoring/).

From there, select the link for Articles/Databases

Image of Library/TLCC Homepage

The list of all PSC databases will appear--arranged alphabetically. You can also view the databases arranged by subject area by selecting the "All Subjects" dropdown near the top. 

Image of Database List A-Z

After selecting a specific database, you will be prompted to sign in.

Students: Use your Passport information - Student ID number and Password (default: two-digit month and two-digit year of your birth).

Staff/Faculty: Use your Polk email address and password 

If you are having difficulty signing in with your Passport credentials, try clearing the cookies/cache in your browser OR try using a different browser (Chrome, Edge, Safari, Firefox, etc...). This will fix the problem about 90% of the time. 

Gale & Ebsco Tutorials

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in Gale, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the Gale databases Click Here! 

Image of a Gale search screen

You will notice many of our databases say Gale or Ebsco at the end of their names.  Most of those databases have similar search features and tool boxes.

In your ENC1101 classes you learned how to search in Academic OneFile (Gale) and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO). For a quick refresher on searching in EBSCO, select the link below.

For tips & tricks on using the EBSCO databases Click Here! 

Image of an EBSCO search screen

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.