Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for acquaintance rape related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Ending Sexual Violence in College by
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
How do we create a culture of zero tolerance for sexual violence on college campuses? In a world where one in five women on campus experience some form of sexual assault, what would it take to create a campus culture that was free of violence against women? From a public health perspective, sexual assault is an epidemic on campuses, but why? What is it about a campus community culture that permits or encourages this, at a time when a majority of students are now female? In this practical guide for colleges and universities, Joanne H. Gavin, James Campbell Quick, and David J. Gavin lay out a community-based model that is designed to eliminate sexual misconduct, spot it before it happens, punish its perpetrators, support its victims/survivors, and end this epidemic. Ending Sexual Violence in Collegeis a prescriptive guide for creating a campus culture that is intolerant of sexual misconduct regardless of who is involved or the context in which it happens. A culture of intolerance, the authors argue, does not consider the role or status of either the perpetrator or victim/survivor. Rather, this culture protects all members. Using a public health model with an emphasis on prevention to create this cultural change, the book utilizes psychological and organizational research to understand the challenges of making these changes while enhancing the odds of permanent cultural change for the better. Designed to spur community-wide conversations on how we can make our campuses safe from sexual violence, this book's preventive approach allows communities to self-monitor. The authors include case studies of institutions that have not been proactive in putting programs in place to protect students, as well as examples of institutions that are effectively addressing these problems. Aimed at college administrators and Title IX coordinators who are responsible for leading campuses that are safe for everyone, Ending Sexual Violence in College also enables those who work or live on a college campus to take an active role in making the campus safer.
No More Excuses by
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Soon after the sexual misconduct allegations against film producer Harvey Weinstein became public in late 2017, the #MeToo movement went viral, opening up an explosive conversation about rape culture around the globe. In the US, someone is sexually assaulted every 98 seconds. More than 320,000 Americans over the age of twelve are sexually assaulted each year. Men are victims too. One in thirty-three American men will be sexually assaulted or raped in his lifetime. Yet only 3 percent of rapists ever serve time in jail. Learn about the patriarchal constructs that support rape culture and how to dismantle them: redefining healthy manhood and sexuality, believing victims, improving social and legal systems and workplace environments, evaluating media with a critical eye, and standing up to speak out. Case studies provide a well-rounded view of real people on all sides of the issues.
Resisting Rape Culture Through Pop Culture by
Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Resisting Rape Culture through Pop Culture: Sex After #MeToo provides audiences with constructive models of affirmative consent, tender masculinity, and pleasure in popular culture that work to challenge toxic dominant and hegemonic constructions. While numerous scholars have illustrated the many ways mediated culture shape social understandings of sexual violence, this book analyzes texts that might serve to resist rape culture. This project locates how these texts manufacture cinematic or televisual narratives and in turn work to create new realities that encourage cultural and social change. Kelly Wilz analyzes the ways in which we, as a culture, tend to understand sex through visual media and dominant cultural myths, while highlighting productive texts which might serve as a possible corrective to the ways in which sex is ritualized by rules that legitimize violence. Through the lens of productive criticism, Wilz examines how language and dominant ideologies around rape culture and rape myths reinforce systemic violence, and how visual texts might work to reimagine how we might disrupt those ideologies and create new ways to engage in conversations around intimacy and violence. By centering the voices within the #MeToo movement, who actively work to de-normalize sexual assault and abuse, these models provide a useful counter to the deluge of dehumanizing narratives about survivors and sexualized violence. Scholars of pop culture, women's studies, media studies, and social justice will find this book particularly useful.
I Never Called It Rape - Updated Edition by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation HV6561 .W38 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Featuring a new preface by feminist icon Gloria Steinem, and a new foreword by Salamishah Tillet, PhD, Rutgers University Professor of African American Studies and Creative Writing "Essential. . . . It is nonpolemical, lucid, and speaks eloquently not only to the victims of acquaintance rape but to all those caught in its net."-- Philadelphia Inquirer With the advent of the #MeToo and Time's Up movements, and almost daily new reports about rape, both on and off campuses, Robin Warshaw's I Never Called It Rape is even more relevant today than when it was first published in 1988. The sad truth is that statistics on date rape have not changed in more than thirty years. That our culture enables rape is not just shown by the numbers: the outbreak of complaints against alleged rapists from Bill Cosby and Harvey Weinstein to Matt Lauer and President Donald Trump has further amplified this horrifying reality. With more than 80,000 copies sold to date, I Never Called It Rape serves as a guide to understanding rape as a cultural phenomenon--providing women and men with strategies to address our rape endemic. It gives survivors the context and resources to help them heal from their experiences, and pulls the wool from all our eyes regarding the pervasiveness of rape and sexual assault in our society.
Rape Culture on Campus by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation LB2345.3.R37 M56 2018
Publication Date: 2018-09-15
Rape Culture on Campus explores how existing responses to sexual violence on college and university campuses fail to address religious and cultural dynamics that make rape appear normal, dynamics imbedded in social expectations around race, class, gender, sexuality, and disability. Rather than dealing with these complex dynamics, responses to sexual violence on college campuses focus on implementing changes in one-time workshops. As an alternative to quick solutions, this book argues that long-term classroom interventions are necessary in order to understand religious and cultural complexities and effectively respond to this crisis. Written for educators, administrators, activists, and students, Rape Culture on Campus provides an accessible cultural studies approach to rape culture that complements existing social science approaches, an intersectional and interdisciplinary analysis of rape culture, and offers practical, classroom-based interventions.
Stronger. Braver. Wiser by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation HV6558 .P68 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-22
Jennifer Potter might never have said anything. She might have just let everything rest. But after seeing the progress made by the #MeToo movement, she knew she had to speak up. So she told the police about her rape. At just 17 years old, she was assaulted by a family friend, someone close to her. She told her parents but she didn't report it. Filled with shame about what had happened, she tried to forget about it instead. But trauma leaves scars that can't be seen, and she spent years trying to run away, only to find that she kept running into the very thing she was trying to flee. And so she chose to file a report, in the hope that she might heal. But revisiting the trauma brought everything back: the memories, the pain, the shame of being assaulted. And being questioned on the stand, 20 years after the attack, was like a living nightmare. Maybe this was all for nothing... Stronger. Braver. Wiser. is fundamentally a story of triumph; a real-life David vs Goliath tale of a woman finding her own justice in a world that sought to rob her of it.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.