Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the library guide for ADHD research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
ADHD: Evaluation and Care by
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is the most common behavioral condition and the second most common chronic illness in children. However, current objective assessments are of limited use in clarifying the diagnosis. This collection offers an evidence-based approach to evaluating children for ADHD. It also addresses treatment challenges, including prescribing practices for stimulant and nonstimulant ADHD medications, monitoring for medication adherence, side-effects, dosing, and medication adjustments. Additionally, discussion of the effectiveness of nonpharmacologic treatments such as neurofeedback, cognitive training, and herbal or dietary supplements is provided.
Helping Children with ADHD by
Publication Date: 2017-04-25
Combining the latest research evidence with the authors' practical expertise, Helping Children with ADHD offers a complete intervention programme for flexibly delivering behavioural and cognitive interventions to children aged 6-12 with ADHD and associated conditions. Redefines and develops best practice in the application of cognitive and behavioural techniques to help children aged 6-12 with ADHD and associated comorbid conditions, including learning difficulties Offers a range of engaging resources within a pragmatic and practically-focused approach; modular structure allows the interventions to be selected and tailored according to the particular age, ability and needs of the individual child An appendix of entertaining stories about Buzz, a boy with ADHD, provides structural narrative while also teaching core skills in areas such as keeping calm, planning, managing impulsivity and dealing with anxiety Straightforward, accessible language allows the techniques to be used by those without expert clinical training; dedicated sections provide advice for using the approach in school, home and group contexts A companion website provides downloadable materials including illustrated patient worksheets to accompany the narrative stories
Management of ADHD in Children and Young People by
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
This book is an accessible and practical guide on all aspects of assessment of children and young people with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and how they can be managed successfully. The multi-professional team of authors discusses referral, assessment and diagnosis, psychological management, pharmacological management, and co-existing conditions, as well as ADHD in the school setting. New research on girls with ADHD is also featured. Case scenarios are included that bring these topics to life. Neurodisability and community paediatricians, child and adolescent psychiatrists, specialist nurses, psychologists, and education professionals as well as parents and carers will find this an essential resource.
Understanding ADHD: A Conversation with Stephen Hinshaw by
Publication Date: 2020
This book is based on an in-depth conversation with Stephen Hinshaw, Professor of Psychology at UC Berkeley. Stephen Hinshaw is an expert in the fields of clinical child and adolescent psychology and developmental psychopathology, as well as stigma, preventive interventions and dehumanization related to mental illness. This conversation examines the facts and misunderstandings surrounding ADHD, diagnosis and misdiagnosis, treatment, family responsibilities, the subtitles of medication, adult ADHD, gender, medication, what's happening on an international level and the stigma of mental illness. This carefully-edited book includes a detailed introduction, questions for discussion at the end of each chapter and connections with other books in the Ideas Roadshow Conversations series.
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RJ506.H9 W448 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Drawing on over forty years of clinical and research experience, Paul Wender and new coauthor David A. Tomb have created a classic, definitive model for identifying and treating children and adults who have Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).ADHD: Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in Children and Adults, Fifth Edition offers insights into the progression of ADHD to those at any age and describes the best treatment. Wender and Tomb stress that drug therapy remains the most effective in treating the disorder, but psychologicaltechniques, when combined with medication, can produce further improvement. In addition, extensive first-hand accounts from men, women, and children offer dramatic insight into what it feels like to have, and to receive medical treatment for, ADHD. Throughout, the book contains valuable informationon where to seek help and what kinds of diagnostic tests exist and how reliable they are, as well as comprehensive instructions and rating scales to help parents best help their child and to help adults self-screen for the disorder.This concise and fully revised volume is a practical tool for individuals at any age, parents and teachers of children with ADHD, and clinicians.
ADHD and the Focused Mind by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (RJ506.H9 C478 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-02-15
As a young boy, his difficulty in concentrating was diagnosed as ADHD. In school, his mind always seemed to wander until he found an activity that he liked. By using that one activity, his mother was able to teach him to focus and develop self-discipline. Debbie Phelps found a way to reach past her son's ADHD--and that young boy, Michael Phelps, went on to win twenty-two Olympic medal and break thirty-nine world records in swimming. Now the principle that guided Debbie Phelps' approach is the subject of this breakthrough title. ADHD & the Focused Mind provides coaching techniques that can profoundly improve the life of any child suffering from Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
The Myth of the ADHD Child, Revised Edition by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RJ506.H9 A76 201
Publication Date: 2017-08-29
A fully revised and updated edition of the groundbreaking book on tackling the root causes of children's attention and behavior problems rather than masking the symptoms with medication. More than twenty years after Dr. Thomas Armstrong's Myth of the A.D.D. Child first published, he presents much needed updates and insights in this substantially revised edition. When The Myth of the A.D.D. Child was first published in 1995, Dr. Thomas Armstrong made the controversial argument that many behaviors labeled as ADD or ADHD are simply a child's active response to complex social, emotional, and educational influences. In this fully revised and updated edition, Dr. Armstrong shows readers how to address the underlying causes of a child's attention and behavior problems in order to help their children implement positive changes in their lives. The rate of ADHD diagnosis has increased sharply, along with the prescription of medications to treat it. Now needed more than ever, this book includes fifty-one new non-drug strategies to help children overcome attention and behavior problems, as well as updates to the original fifty proven strategies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
America's News This link opens in a new windowWith unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowResources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.