Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for ADHD research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
ADHD: Evaluation and Care by
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is the most common behavioral condition and the second most common chronic illness in children. However, current objective assessments are of limited use in clarifying the diagnosis. This collection offers an evidence-based approach to evaluating children for ADHD. It also addresses treatment challenges, including prescribing practices for stimulant and nonstimulant ADHD medications, monitoring for medication adherence, side-effects, dosing, and medication adjustments. Additionally, discussion of the effectiveness of nonpharmacologic treatments such as neurofeedback, cognitive training, and herbal or dietary supplements is provided.
Diagnosing Learning Disorders, Third Edition by
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
A definitive reference--now extensively revised with 70% new material--this book presents cutting-edge knowledge on how learning disorders develop and how to diagnose and treat them effectively. In addition to dyslexia and mathematics disabilities, the book covers speech and language disorders, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorder, and intellectual disability. Accessibly written, it is grounded in genetics, neuroscience, and developmental neuropsychology. Clinicians and educators are guided to make sense of children's impairments and strengths and make sound diagnostic decisions. Best practices in intervention are reviewed. User-friendly features include case examples and summary tables in each disorder-specific chapter. New to This Edition *Revised throughout to reflect major theoretical, empirical, and technological advances. *Chapters on etiology, brain development, and comorbidity. *Chapters on DSM-5 diagnosis of specific learning disorder, evidence-based assessment, and achievement gaps.
Understanding ADHD: A Conversation with Stephen Hinshaw by
Publication Date: 2020
This book is based on an in-depth conversation with Stephen Hinshaw, Professor of Psychology at UC Berkeley. Stephen Hinshaw is an expert in the fields of clinical child and adolescent psychology and developmental psychopathology, as well as stigma, preventive interventions and dehumanization related to mental illness. This conversation examines the facts and misunderstandings surrounding ADHD, diagnosis and misdiagnosis, treatment, family responsibilities, the subtitles of medication, adult ADHD, gender, medication, what's happening on an international level and the stigma of mental illness. This carefully-edited book includes a detailed introduction, questions for discussion at the end of each chapter and connections with other books in the Ideas Roadshow Conversations series.
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RJ506.H9 W448 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Drawing on over forty years of clinical and research experience, Paul Wender and new coauthor David A. Tomb have created a classic, definitive model for identifying and treating children and adults who have Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).ADHD: Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in Children and Adults, Fifth Edition offers insights into the progression of ADHD to those at any age and describes the best treatment. Wender and Tomb stress that drug therapy remains the most effective in treating the disorder, but psychologicaltechniques, when combined with medication, can produce further improvement. In addition, extensive first-hand accounts from men, women, and children offer dramatic insight into what it feels like to have, and to receive medical treatment for, ADHD. Throughout, the book contains valuable informationon where to seek help and what kinds of diagnostic tests exist and how reliable they are, as well as comprehensive instructions and rating scales to help parents best help their child and to help adults self-screen for the disorder.This concise and fully revised volume is a practical tool for individuals at any age, parents and teachers of children with ADHD, and clinicians.
ADHD Medications: history, science, and issues by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC394.A85 S76 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
The treatment of attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is a complex challenge. This book provides comprehensive, scientific coverage of the numerous different types of drugs that are used to treat ADHD, and it examines the historical, sociological, and policy-related factors involved in the use of ADHD medications. A national study indicated that 11 percent of U.S. children and teens were diagnosed with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in 2011--a figure 43 percent higher than in 2003. The incidence of ADHD diagnoses among females has also increased significantly. For the millions of Americans of all ages who are diagnosed with ADHD, the proper treatment of this disorder is critically important. ADHD Medications: History, Science, and Issues provides readers with the complete story of ADHD drugs. The book discusses the pharmacological basis of the effects of these powerful drugs; examines the myriad social dimensions of the use, misuse, and abuse of these substances; and identifies the range of issues that affect the recognition, diagnosis, and treatment of ADHD. After an introductory case study of an individual with ADHD and this individual's problems and successes with ADHD medicines, this new book in the Story of a Drug series provides an overview of ADHD and its various symptoms, as well as the causes, prevalence, and diagnosis of ADHD. Various treatment approaches--including information about the many medications used--are discussed in detail, as well as other substances and alternative ways used to treat individuals with ADHD. Readers will also gain an understanding of neurotransmission and the specific mechanism of action of ADHD medications; the effects and applications of these drugs, plus their associated risks, misuse, and abuse; as well as related policy issues, with special focus on the controversial issues regarding ADHD drug scheduling (categorization). Provides broad background coverage of ADHD and of various types of drugs that can be used to treat symptoms of ADHD Explains how different types of ADHD medications work in the body Delves into issues and controversies related to ADHD medications, including their prescription to young children and recreational use by individuals without ADHD
All about ADHD by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (RJ506.H9 P524 2017)
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
All About ADHD is a comprehensive guide to ADHD's symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment in children and adults, including information such as: The basic symptoms of ADHD and their effects on school, work, home, and personal relationships; The differences in ADHD between boys and girls; Counseling, school interventions, behavior management, and social skills training Written in easy-to-understand language and with a positive, treatment-focused approach, All About ADHD is a must-have resource for parents, teachers, physicians, and mental health professionals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.