Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for advertising related research topics. Below you will find suggested ebooks/books and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Targeted: How Technology is Revolutionizing Advertising and the Way Companies Reach Consumers by
Publication Date: 2014-11-19
Growing at a compound annual rate near 20%, online advertising is now the second-largest advertising channel in the United States. Part history, part guidebook, part prediction for the future, Targeted tells the story of the companies, individuals, and innovations driving this revolution. From keyword micro-markets and ad serving systems to aggregated virtual audiences and new business models, Targeted is an essential resource for anyone interested in finding and connecting with customers in the vast and shifting Internet universe.
We Are What We Sell: How Advertising Shapes American Life... And Always Has by
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
For the last 150 years, advertising has created a consumer culture in the United States, shaping every facet of American life—from what we eat and drink to the clothes we wear and the cars we drive. This three volume collection includes original essays by noted cultural and advertising historians, commentators, and journalists. It also contains analysis from experts in advertising and popular culture as well as a comprehensive examination of advertising history and its consequences across modern America.
The Blueprint for Strategic Advertising : How Critical Thinking Builds Successful Campaigns by
Publication Date: 2016-07-19
The Blueprint for Strategic Advertising is step-by-step approach takes a comprehensive and exclusive look into the strategic use of visual, verbal, social media, integrated, and global of advertising communication. Its deconstructive process analyzes one aspect at a time, creating an invaluable research tool that students, professors, small business owners and entrepreneurs will refer to, time and again. This useful guide will concentrate on how strategy is integrated into visual and verbal ideation. Berman's compact, content-rich guide offers chapters detailing social media, user-centered interactive advertising, and presentation strategy, closing with the creation of a "blueprint" to strategizing globally. Features include a handy reference guide to powerful strategizing, an exploration of strategies for myriad media and messaging vehicles, and an examination of the strategic implementation of the visual and verbal union. This guide will be useful to students in advertising, marketing, and business courses as well as advertising professionals and entrepreneurs, outside the classroom.
Advertising Concept and Copy by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HF5823 .F43 2013)
Publication Date: 2013-08-05
A classic text now in a new edition, George Felton’s Advertising: Concept and Copy is an innovative approach to advertising creativity. This text contains substantial discussion of both strategy and technique with an emphasis on the craft of writing. It covers the entire conceptual process, from developing smart strategy to executing it with strong ads—from what to say to how to say it.
Part 1, Strategies; Part 2, Executions; & Part 3, the Toolbox.
Black Ops Advertising by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HF5811 .E36 2016)
Publication Date: 2016-09-13
From Facebook to the New York Times, often what looks like fact-based journalism is not. It's advertising. Not only are ads indistinguishable from reporting, the Internet we rely on for news, opinions and even impartial sales content is now the ultimate corporate tool. Black Ops Advertising dissects this rapid rise of "sponsored content,” a strategy whereby advertisers have become publishers and publishers create advertising--all under the guise of unbiased information. Covert selling has so blurred the lines between editorial content and marketing that it is next to impossible to tell real news from paid endorsements. In the 21st century, marketers “engage” with us so that we share, share, SHARE—the ultimate subtle sell.
The Rise of Advertising in the United States by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (HF5813.U6 A733 2012)
Publication Date: 2012-08-17
Edd Applegate surveys the key figures and events that transformed the American business landscape from its colonial beginnings to that Mad Men moment when advertising went professional. Applegate traces how the explosion of newspapers in the American colonies laid the groundwork for the first advertising agents, leading to America's first class of professional marketers. Applegate records the achievements of these individuals and others up until 1960, when advertising underwent a remarkable change, becoming a post-war subject of study and scholarship in America's colleges and universities. This book should appeal to anyone interested in American business history.
Academic OneFile The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.