Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for AIDS/HIV related research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
AIDS Between Science and Politics by
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Peter Piot, founding executive director of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS), recounts his experience as a clinician, scientist, and activist fighting the disease from its earliest manifestation to today. The AIDS pandemic was not only catastrophic to the health of millions worldwide but also fractured international relations, global access to new technologies, and public health policies in nations across the globe. As he struggled to get ahead of the disease, Piot found science does little good when it operates independently of politics and economics, and politics is worthless if it rejects scientific evidence and respect for human rights.
Treating AIDS by
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
There is an inherently powerful and complex paradox underlying HIV/AIDS prevention--between the focus on collective advocacy mobilized to combat global HIV/AIDS and the staggeringly disproportionate rates of HIV/AIDS in many places. This book examines the everyday practices of HIV/AIDS prevention in the United States from the perspective of AIDS experts and Haitian immigrants in South Florida.
The AIDS Pandemic by
Publication Date: 2017-01-08
This ambitious book provides a comprehensive history of the World Health Organization (WHO) Global Programme on AIDS (GPA), using it as a unique lens to trace the global response to the AIDS pandemic. The authors describe how WHO came initially to assume leadership of the global response, relate the strategies and approaches WHO employed over the years, and expound on the factors that led to the Programme's demise and subsequent formation of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS). The authors examine the global impact of this momentous transition, portray the current status of the global response to AIDS, and explore the precarious situation that WHO finds itself in today as a lead United Nations agency in global health. Several aspects of the global response - the strategies adopted, the roads taken and not taken, and the lessons learned - can provide helpful guidance to the global health community as it continues tackling the AIDS pandemic and confronts future global pandemics. Included in the coverage: The response before the global response Building and coordinating a multi-sectoral response Containing the global spread of HIV Addressing stigma, discrimination, and human rights Rethinking global AIDS governance UNAIDS and its place in the global response The AIDS Pandemic: Searching for a Global Response recounts the global response to the AIDS pandemic from its inception to today. Policymakers, students, faculty, journalists, researchers, and health professionals interested in HIV/AIDS, global health, global pandemics, and the history of medicine will find it highly compelling and consequential. It will also interest those involved in global affairs, global governance, international relations, and international development.
Tackling the World's Fastest-Growing HIV Epidemic by
Publication Date: 2020-07-30
The Eastern Europe and Central Asia region has the world's fastest-growing HIV epidemic. Although still concentrated, the epidemic has diversified, affecting several key populations in many countries. This change has increased the number of people in need, the ways the epidemic can spread, and the complexity of formulating an effective strategy to combat it. At the same time, international funding is insufficient to cover the growing need, and domestic plans to cover the funding gaps, in many cases, fall short. In this environment, the need to use data to make the best possible decisions about using available funds is essential. Tackling the World's Fastest-Growing HIV Epidemic tells the story of how, in 11 countries across Eastern Europe and Central Asia, small groups of decision-makers and experts came together to carry out innovative, groundbreaking analyses for each country. It details the steps these nations have taken to strengthen their HIV programs based on the findings while highlighting critical issues for the road ahead. In so doing, the book also shows the potential of what can be done with a mathematical model and how it can support real-life improvements in policy and more efficacious budget allocations. It is the record of a unique undertaking to improve public health investments that offers lessons for many communities.
AIDS Sourcebook, 7th Ed by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC606.64 .A337 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Health information about HIV and AIDS, including information about the stages of the disease and how it is transmitted, prevention guidelines, treatment options, and tips for living with AIDS. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Bartlett's Medical Management of HIV Infection by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation RC606.6 B378 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-19
THE PIONEERING WORK IN HIV MEDICINE, COMPLETELY REVISED FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE 2012The 17th edition of Bartlett's Medical Management of HIV Infection offers the best-available clinical guidance for treatment of patients with HIV. Edited by preeminent and pioneering authorities in HIV research and clinical care, it has earned its status as the definitive work for physicians,physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and anyone working in the care of persons with HIV.Updated to reflect the most recent innovations in HIV prevention and therapy, this text balances new and old approaches to produce a guide to clinical management in any setting. Coverage includes:- New approaches to prevention of HIV and prevention of infection in patients with HIV- Laboratory protocols for screening and treatment- Antiretroviral therapies (including dosage and adverse effects and drug interactions )- HIV treatment in resource-limited settings- Management of infectionsA portable, navigable guide to an exquisitely complex field, Bartlett's Medical Management of HIV Infection is the continuing standard for practice and education in the field of HIV.
Plagues, Pandemics and Viruses by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation RA643 .Q85 2020
Publication Date: 2020-11-01
From the plague of Athens to the Covid-19 pandemic, Plagues, Pandemics and Viruses covers the history, causes, medical treatments, human responses, and aftermath of the world's biggest pandemics as well as several modern diseases of note and those that are making a comeback. It chronicles the plagues, pandemics, and other diseases that have inflicted man through the millennia, including the bubonic plague/black plague, which killed 30%-60% of Europe's population; the 1918 Spanish Flu; AIDS, and now Covid-19.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.