Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for airline safety and security research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Airline Industry by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This book presents a comprehensive review of the strategies, operations and safety of the airline industry. Topics discussed herein include a financial history and analysis of the U.S. airline industry, outsourcing strategies of full-service airlines, measuring and benchmarking airport efficiency, service quality and internal differences among members of the airline alliances, measures used to schedule airline crew under a variable workload using fixed days on and days off patterns, and frequent flyer mile usage among passengers.
Fusion of Security System Data to Improve Airport Security by
Publication Date: 2007-12-14
The security of the U.S. commercial aviation system has been a growing concern since the 1970's when the hijacking of aircraft became a serious problem. Over that period, federal aviation officials have been searching for more effective ways for non-invasive screening of passengers, luggage, and cargo to detect concealed explosives and weapons.
Racial Profiling by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (HV7936.R3 R36 2015)
Publication Date: 2014-12-12
Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic. This book examines Racial Profiling. It presents a diverse selection of primary sources representing all sides of the debate in question. Extensive book and periodical bibliographies and a list of organizations to contact are also included.
Practical Aviation and Aerospace Law by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Airside Center (Airside KF2400 .H36 2015)
Publication Date: 2015-09-16
Updated and expanded in its sixth edition,Practical Aviation & Aerospace Law (previouslyPractical Aviation Law) and its companion workbook function as a comprehensive instructive package for undergraduate and graduate aviation law courses. Whether used as a set or alone, this book is an invaluable reference guide for aviation and aerospace business managers, pilots, maintenance personnel, aircraft owners, air traffic controllers, air safety investigators, operators of unmanned aircraft, and others involved in aviation and aerospace as a profession or hobby.
Airport Planning and Management by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Airside Center (AIRS TL725.3.P5 W452 2011)
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
The definitive, up-to-date guide to airport planning and management. Fully revised, updated, and reorganized to reflect the latest advances in the aviation industry, Airport Planning and Management, Sixth Edition offers comprehensive coverage of this challenging field. Airports, airport systems, operations management, and administration are discussed in detail. This authoritative volume addresses changes in technology, structure, and political environment, including enhanced security, environmental impact, and regulatory issues. Coverage includes: Introduction to airports and airport systems: organization and administration, historical and legislative perspectives, airfield airspace and air traffic management, airport operations management under FAR Part 139, airport terminals and ground access, airport security, airport financial management, airport planning, airport capacity and delay, and the future of airport management.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
America's News With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Expanded Academic ASAP Resources for research across academic disciplines, offering in-depth coverage of
virtually any concentration from advertising, psychology and history to microbiology, the humanities and womens studies.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.