Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for alternative medicine research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Gale Encyclopedia Alternative Complimentary Medicine by
Publication Date: 2014-05-21
Can magnets relieve arthritis pain? Does the scent of lavender calm the nerves? Is St. John's Wort a mood enhancer? Authoritative, objective and in tune with the subjects that matter to students and researchers, Gale presents four volumes of current, unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Covering all aspects of the subject through more than 800 entries, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine identifies types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
A Doctor's Guide to Alternative Medicine by
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
In the United States alone, more than 38 percent of people use Alternative Medicine to treat and prevent medical issues and more than 50 percent of people have tried Alternative Medicine at some point in their life. In this book, Dr. Mel Borins uses the latest scientific research and double-blind studies to educate patients and physicians alike on which alternative treatments work, which don't, and why. And more importantly, it teaches them how to safely use these alternative treatments, as a reputable source of information to supplement their conventional medicine treatments.
Mayo Clinic Alternative Medicine and Home Remedies by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (WB 935 M4731 2013 )
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
From acupuncture to yoga, echinacea to St. John's wort, meditation to healing touch, Mayo Clinic provides answers to the most pressing questions people have about the effectiveness of complementary and alternative medicine and when it's appropriate to use natural remedies in place of or in conjunction with traditional medicine. Many common health problems can be treated with simple remedies you can do at home. Even if the steps you take don't cure the problem, they can relieve symptoms until you're able to see a doctor. In situations involving health issues, the same questions typically arise: What actions can I take that are immediate, safe and effective? When should I contact my doctor? What symptoms signal an emergency? Mayo Clinic Book of Home Remedies guides you to choose the appropriate and most effective response.
Do You Believe in Magic? by
Call Number: Polk/Winter Haven Circulation (R733 .O38 2013 )
Publication Date: 2013-06-18
In Do You Believe in Magic?, medical expert Paul A. Offit, M.D., offers a scathing exposé of the alternative medicine industry, revealing how even though some popular therapies are remarkably helpful due to the placebo response, many of them are ineffective, expensive, and even deadly. Dr. Offit reveals how alternative medicine—an unregulated industry under no legal obligation to prove its claims or admit its risks—can actually be harmful to our health. Using dramatic real-life stories, Offit separates the sense from the nonsense, showing why any therapy—alternative or traditional—should be scrutinized. He also shows how some nontraditional methods can do a great deal of good, in some cases exceeding therapies offered by conventional practitioners.
Alternative Medicine by
Call Number: Polk/Lakeland Circulation (R733 .A4587 2012 )
Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores the effectiveness of alternative medicines such as homeopathic medicine, acupuncture, and chelation therapy, reasons for the popularity of alternative medicines, whether alternative and conventional medicine can work together, and gove; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th
Health Reference Center Academic Contains up-to-date information on a complete range of health care topics. This database includes full-text periodicals, reference books, and pamphlets, as well as hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. Your borrower ID is your student ID number (no dashes). Your pin/password is the last four digits of your student ID number.