Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for Alzheimer's disease research topics. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
Alzheimer's Disease: New Beginnings by
Publication Date: 2018-07-18
Alzheimer's Disease: New Beginnings focuses on the future promise for therapeutic breakthroughs in light of notable clinical trial failures. The volume editors used a combination of scientometric evaluations to determine the most promising new approaches as well as soliciting insights from leaders in each of the major areas of Alzheimer's disease research. By combining these two approaches, they recruited authors from the entire outlook spectrum, from those who feel an elusive breakthrough might still be a few, well-placed tweaks away to those who feel that they are launching entirely new investigative paradigms. These scholars present an open-eyed path forward. Now is the most exciting period in this field as old dogmas make way for new insights, from new approaches to clinical trials, improved biomarker-based diagnostics, population-based studies, prevention, metabolism, to further refinement of the role of inflammation, genetics, tau, and amyloid-β.
Encyclopedia of Dementia by
Publication Date: 2020-08-30
"This new title is designed to bring together necessary and valuable information for the millions of individuals, family members, and caregivers affected by dementia. For those providing care and support to individuals with dementia, this resource provides easy-to-understand and helpful information about dementia and connects readers to many sources of support." --
Neurodegeneration and Alzheimer's Disease by
Publication Date: 2019-07-10
Understanding the impact of diet, exercise, genetics, and hormones on the risk and development of Alzheimer's and other neurogenerative diseases Diet is widely known to impact on neurological function. Nevertheless, academic texts discussing this relationship are relatively few in number. This book therefore fills an important gap in the current literature. Opening with an overview of neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer's disease, the text then focuses on explaining the means by which glycemic control and lipid metabolism - and associated nutritional and lifestyle variables - may factor into such disorders' prevention and treatment. An international group of experts in the fields of food science and neurodegeneration have contributed chapters that examine Alzheimer's disease within a broad range of contexts. Offering dietary, genetic, and hormonal perspectives, the authors explore topics ranging from sugar consumption to digestive fermentation, and Alzheimer's disease animal models to the cognition-enhancing effects of physical exercise. Also included are overviews of the latest research into current and developing methods of treatment and diagnosis, as well as differential diagnostics. This groundbreaking book: Explores how glucose metabolism, insulin resistance, lipid metabolism, and high intake of refined carbohydrates are linked to Alzheimer's disease Discusses how genetic makeup can impact risk of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease Examines cognitive changes in neurodegeneration, lists current tests for determining cognitive impairment, and provides information concerning differential diagnosis Discusses potential advantages of increasing antioxidant and micronutrient intake Reviews hormonal influences on neurodegeneration Examines the links between protein intake and Alzheimer's disease. Neurodegeneration and Alzheimer's Disease is an essential resource for researchers, medical practitioners, dietitians, and students with an interest in neurological diseases and their diagnosis and risk factors, as well as diet-related conditions such as diabetes and obesity. Lifestyle and diet influence neurodegeneration risk, and a better understanding of this evidence amongst health professionals will hopefully lead to greater public awareness of how to reduce the likelihood of these widespread conditions.
Alzheimer's Disease Decoded: the History, Present, and Future of Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation ; RC523 .S24 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-02
The book aims to present, educate and inform individuals about Alzheimer's disease in a comprehensive manner. Its scope ranges from the discovery of the disease, epidemiology and basic biological principles underlying it, to advanced stem cell therapies used in the treatment of Alzheimer's. It adopts a 'global' perspective on Alzheimer's disease, and include epidemiological data and science from countries around the world.Alzheimer's disease is a rapidly growing problem seen in every country around the world. This is the first and only comprehensive book to cover Alzheimer's disease, and includes the most updated literature and scientific progress in the field of dementia and Alzheimer's disease research.Most books on the market that focus on Alzheimer's disease are targeted at caregivers as practical advice on how to deal with loved ones with the disease. This book instead is a comprehensive and popular science book that can be read by anyone with an interest in learning more about the disease.Dr. Jefferson Chen MD, PhD, co-author, participated in the world's first surgical clinical trial using shunts to treat Alzheimer's disease. His first-hand involvement in a clinical trial for patients with Alzheimer's disease and experience treating Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus (NPH) which is commonly misdiagnosed as Alzheimer's disease lends a unique perspective.This book with appeal to a wide audience, regardless of their scientific or educational background.
Alzheimer Disease Sourcebooke by
Call Number: RC523.2 .A45 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Provides consumer health information about symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of Alzheimer disease and other dementias, along with tips for coping with memory loss and related complications and advice for caregivers. Includes index, glossary of related terms and a directory of resources.
Dementia Reimagined by
Call Number: Winter Haven Circulation ; RC521 .P68 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
A moving combination of medicine and memoir, peeling back the untold history of dementia, from the story of Solomon Fuller, a black doctor whose research at the turn of the twentieth century anticipated important aspects of what we know about dementia today, to what has been gained and lost with the recent bonanza of funding for Alzheimer's at the expense of other forms of the disease. In demystifying dementia, Dr. Powell helps us understand it with clearer eyes, from the point of view of both physician and caregiver. Ultimately, she wants us all to know that dementia is not only about loss - it's also about the preservation of dignity and hope.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowThe premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed differing views present each side of an issue, allowing you to draw your own valid conclusions.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. Designed for researchers at all levels, its intuitive interface provides multiple pathways to information including alternative medicine.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.