Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.
Welcome to the Polk State College library guide for research topics related to amusement parks. Below you will find suggested books/ebooks and recommended databases. If you need help, click the link for Ask a Librarian.
"a commercially operated park having various devices for entertainment (such as a merry-go-round and roller coaster) and usually booths for the sale of food and drink"
Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Amusement park. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/amusement%20park
Remember to the read any guidelines for your assignment before searching and finding sources. Make sure any articles used match the criteria set by your professor.
Consider the following:
- Does your source need to be current?
- Do articles need to be from a peer-reviewed journal?
- Do you have to have certain types of sources (e.g. ebooks or articles)?
- Is there minimum or maximum number of sources you need to use?
All these questions can usually be answered by reading your assignment guidelines. If there are specifications (e.g. the articles need to be from peer-reviewed journals) it is a good idea to select those limits when searching.
Starting Search Words
"Knott's Berry Farm"
Putting a phrase in quotes keeps those words together when searching. To find more results, try combining terms with OR, for example:
LegoLand OR "Universal Studios" OR "Busch Gardens"
To compare the nuances between terminology, try searching just one term/phrase and then another, for example:
How are the results different if "amusement park" is searched compared to if "theme park" is searched?
Experiment with removing the quotes, as well as different combinations of terms and phrases.
The Global Theme Park Industry by
Publication Date: 2007-04-16
Since the 1980s, the theme park industry has developed into a global phenomenon, with everything from large, worldwide theme parks to countless smaller ventures. From the first pleasure gardens to the global theme park companies, this book provides an understanding of the nature and function of theme parks as spaces of entertainment. Illustrated throughout by worldwide case studies, empirical data and practical examples, the book portrays the impacts of theme parks as global competitive actors, agents of global development and cultural symbols, particularly in the context of their role in the developing experience economy. In conclusion, this book is a practical guide to the planning and development of theme parks.
Book Chapter: Circuses, Carnivals, World's Fairs and Expositions, and Theme Parks
The history of theme parks, world's fairs, carnivals, and circuses is intrinsically tied to the rise of leisure time that came about as a result of the Industrial Revolution. Free from the constant demands of rural farm life, people had greater freedom to seek out enjoyment and entertainment, and popular amusements flourished. However, the roots of these amusements go back much further, and analysis of them sheds light on audiences’ desire for and preferences in leisure activities. The theme park adopted characteristics of circuses, carnivals, and world's fairs to create a new form of popular entertainment. Scholars wonder what effect this has, not only on the use of one's leisure time but also on one's sense of self, country, and belief system. Important, too, is the way in which park visitors process the fantasy world of the theme park, transforming interpretation of the real.
A Cultural History of the Disneyland Theme Parks by
Publication Date: 2021-03-17
When the first Disneyland opened its doors in 1955, it reinvented the American amusement park and transformed the travel, tourism, and entertainment industries forever. Now a global vacation empire, the original park in Anaheim, California, has been joined by massive complexes in Florida, Tokyo, Paris, Hong Kong, and Shanghai. Spanning six decades, three continents, and five distinct cultures, Sabrina Mittermeier presents an interdisciplinary examination of the parks, situating them in their proper historical context and exploring the distinct cultural, social, and economic landscapes that defined each one at the time of its construction. Mittermeier then spotlights the central role of class in the subsequent success or failure of each venture. The first comparative study of the Disney theme parks, the book closes a significant gap in existing research and is an important new contribution to the field.
Roller Coasters: United States and Canada by
Publication Date: 2015-10-02
In its fourth edition, this exhaustive guide to roller coasters in the United States and Canada also provides a history of coaster evolution (from the 16th century) and a look into the future of coaster technology and design. The book lists by state or province more than 700 coasters at more than 160 amusement and theme parks. Each entry includes contact information along with summaries of each coaster's origins, features and history. There are six appendices: famous coaster designers, the longest wood and steel coasters in North America, a coaster census by state or province, a chronology of wooden roller coasters still in operation, interesting amusement park and coaster facts, and a guide to the alpine coasters at winter resorts in the U.S. and Canada.
Publication Date: 2022-02-04
It's hard to imagine a childhood without the ubiquitous presence of Disney. From classics like Cinderella and Bambi to such modern blockbusters as Mulan and Frozen, Disney's animated features have captivated audiences for decades. Visiting CaliforniA's Disneyland or FloridA's Disney World has become the quintessential family vacation. Children dress as their favorite Disney characters for Halloween, while young-at-heart adults collect all manner of Disney memorabilia. But how much do you really know about this integral piece of Americana? Part of Greenwood's Corporations That Changed the World series, this book provides readers with a richly detailed history of a company that has become synonymous with what it means to grow up as an American. It chronicles Walt Disney's early years and the evolution of the Walt Disney Company from animation studio to entertainment powerhouse. It also explores how Disney changed the landscape of animation and movie making forever. An unbiased look at the controversies that have surrounded Disney over the years will help readers better understand these contentious issues and how the company has responded.
Fodor's Walt Disney World by
Call Number: Lakeland Circulation ; GV1853.3.F62 W343 2021
Publication Date: 2020-11-17
Whether you want to visit the new Star Wars Galaxy's Edge at Disney's Hollywood Studios, ride Hagrid's Magical Creatures Motorbike Adventure at Universal's Islands of Adventure, or visit one of Orlando's other exciting attractions, the local Fodor's travel experts on Walt Disney World and Orlando are here to help! Fodor's Walt Disney World guidebook is packed with maps, carefully curated recommendations, and everything else you need to simplify your trip-planning process and make the most of your time. This new edition travel guide has been fully-redesigned with an easy-to-read layout, fresh information, and beautiful color photos. Fodor's Walt Disney World travel guide includes: AN ILLUSTRATED ULTIMATE EXPERIENCES GUIDE to the top things to see and do MULTIPLE ITINERARIES to effectively organize your days and maximize your time MORE THAN 19 DETAILED MAPS and a FREE PULL-OUT MAP to help you navigate confidently COLOR PHOTOS throughout to spark your wanderlust! HONEST RECOMMENDATIONS FROM LOCALS on the best sights, restaurants, hotels, nightlife, shopping, performing arts, activities, side-trips, and more PHOTO-FILLED "BEST OF" FEATURES on "The Best Theme Park Food," "10 Ways to Save Money in Orlando," "The 10 Best Orlando Thrill Rides," and more TRIP-PLANNING TOOLS AND PRACTICAL TIPS including when to go, getting around, beating the crowds, and saving time and money SPECIAL FEATURES on "Doing the Orlando Theme Parks Right" "What to Watch and Read Before You Visit," and "A Man, A Mouse, a Legacy." LOCAL WRITERS to help you find the under-the-radar gems UP-TO-DATE COVERAGE ON: Walt Disney World, Disney's Magic Kingdom, Disney's Animal Kingdom, Disney's Hollywood Studios, Epcot, Universal Studios Orlando, Universal's Islands of Adventure, Universal's Volcano Bay, Legoland, Winter Park, Kissimmee, Lake Buena Vista, Celebration, and much more. Planning on visiting other destinations in Florida? Check out Fodor's Florida, Fodor's In Focus Florida Keys, and Fodor's South Florida. *Important note for digital editions: The digital edition of this guide does not contain all the images or text included in the physical edition. ABOUT FODOR'S AUTHORS: Each Fodor's Travel Guide is researched and written by local experts. Fodor's has been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for over 80 years. For more travel inspiration, you can sign up for our travel newsletter at fodors.com/newsletter/signup, or follow us @FodorsTravel on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. We invite you to join our friendly community of travel experts at fodors.com/community to ask any other questions and share your experience with us!
Theme Park by
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Theme parks are a uniquely interactive and enduring form of entertainment that have influenced architecture, technology, and culture in surprising ways for more than a century, as Scott Lukas now reveals in his compelling historical chronicle. Theme Park takes the primitive amusements of pleasure gardens as its starting point and launches from there into a rich, in-depth investigation of the evolution of the theme park over the twentieth century. Lukas examines theme parks in countries around the world--including in the United States, Mexico, Europe, Japan, China, South Africa, and Australia--and how themed fairs and parks developed through diverse means and in a variety of settings. The book examines world-famous and lesser-known parks, including the early parks of Coney Isl∧ Madrid's Movieworld; a series of World Fairs and their luxurious exhibition halls; Six Flags parks and virtual theme parks today; and, of course, the unparalleled achievements of Disneyland and Disney World. Lukas analyzes the theme park as a living entity that unexpectedly shapes people, their relationships, and the world around them. Theme parks have now become complex representations of the human mind itself, he contends, through its interpretations of books, feature films, video games, and Web sites. Ultimately, Theme Park reveals, the wider influence of theme parks can be found in the shopping malls, branded stores, and casinos that employ the tricks and techniques of amusement parks to dominate our entertainment world today. Packed with captivating illustrations, Theme Park takes us on historical roller coaster ride that both reanimates the places that shaped our childhoods and anticipates the future of escapism and fantasy fun.
Weeki Wachee, City of Mermaids by
Publication Date: 2007-05-27
In the postwar explosion of domestic tourism, Weeki Wachee spring offered the quintessential vacation fantasy, a city of colorful mermaids in a natural crystal spring right off the West Coast highway in a sparsely inhabited Florida. In those early days, the mermaids had to stand alongside the highway to flag travelers down, but once word of their charms got out, travelers headed south to playgrounds in Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, and Tampa found Weeki Wachee a tantalizing detour from the grueling two-lane road connecting vacationland with the work-a-day world to the north. Vickers shows how that local novelty became a stellar international attraction. Founded in 1947 by Walton Hall Smith and Newt Perry, Weeki Wachee and its featured attraction, mermaids, combined the allure of pinup girls with the wholesome talents of variety entertainers to create a daily schedule of underwater acts ranging from eating bananas and performing ballet to staging underwater musicals. For nearly 60 years, these mermaids with their underwater talents have attracted crowds of vacationers, film crews, and celebrities. Drawing on extensive archival research as well as interviews with dozens of mermaids and other park employees, Vickers traces the park's rise to prominence. Brilliantly illustrated with 250 stunning photos, the resulting work shows what it was like to be a mermaid at Weeki Wachee in its heyday.
Women of Walt Disney Imagineering by
Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Capturing an era - and preserving the stories they have told their daughters, their mentees, their husbands and their friends - a dozen women Imagineers have written personal stories from their decades designing and building the Disney world-wide empire of theme parks. Illustrated with the women's personal drawings and photos in addition to archival Imagineering images, the book represents a broad swath of Imagineering's creative disciplines during a time of unprecedented expansion.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowResource that brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowProvides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires with full-text content spanning more than 22 years.
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more.
You must log in to use library databases and eBooks. When prompted to log in, enter your Passport credentials. If you have trouble, try resetting your Passport pin, sending an email to HelpDeskRequests@polk.edu, or calling the Help Desk at 863.292.3652. You can also get help from Ask a Librarian.
Organization of Information