Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AMH 1020 - History of the United States 1877 to the Present: Home

Professor Morgan's Atomic Bomb assignment -- online & paper resources

Using Reference Books

1) Reference books CANNOT be checked out by students. They may be used only within the library.

2) Reference books are located in the center of the library, behind the Reference Desk.

3) Pages can be photocopied: 10 cents for a black-and-white page OR 50 cents for a color page.

Polk State College offers printing, copying, and scanning services in the libraries and TLCCs at the Lakeland and Winter Haven campuses and the JD Alexander Center and Center for Public Safety. The self-serve printers accept credit/debit cards and BankMobile cards. They will not accept cash.

There are five ways to print to a self-serve print station:

  • Print via email – email files to print@printme.com and receive a printing code and barcode to use at any print station.
  • Print via cloud-based server – access OneDrive or Google Drive from any print station.
  • Print via USB – access files off a USB from any print station.
  • Print via PrintMe app – download the PrintMe app from Google Play or the App Store and send prints from your mobile device.
  • Print via Polk State computers – send prints from most Polk State computers.

Login: PSC eBooks

1) Click on eBook link.

2) Make sure the top menu is set to Polk State College.

3) Borrower ID is your Student ID number. 

4) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If your number doesn't work, try again. If you get the same result, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, or call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library.)

Login: PSC Databases

1) Go to www.polk.edu.

2) Go to the top & click "Library/TLCC."

3) In the center, click "Articles/Databases."

4) Set top menu to Polk State College.

5) Borrower ID is your Student ID number.

6) PIN is the last four numbers of your Student ID number.

(NOTE: If you cannot login, go to the Circulation Desk by the front door of the library, call (863) 297-1000 and ask for the Lakeland campus library, or contact us through Ask-A-Librarian.)

7) Go down the list, which is alphabetical by database, and click on the name of your database.

PSC Internet Access

Students at PSC have already paid for Internet access through their tuition. As long as they are students or work for the college, they have Internet access through the library, TLCC, & computer labs.

The library has wireless Internet, accessible through PSC personal computers and PSC laptops.

Students are allowed to bring their own laptops into the library. They may access wireless Internet through PSC or USF. However PSC only has a limited number of ports available. If PSC wireless is not available, sign into the USF wireless as a guest.

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History, Volume 1 A-C: REF D 740 .E516 2005 v.1

American Decades: Primary Sources 1940-1949: REF E 169.1 .A471977 2004 v.5

The Facts on File Dictionary of Atomic and Nuclear Physics: REF QC 772 .F33 2003 c.1

PSC eBooks

PSC Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): PSC's best magazine/journal article database.

On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

Films On Demand (Infobase Publishing): Watch streaming videos and video segments on different perspectives concerning the atomic bomb attacks.

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Citation button below the video or video segment, then click on Chicago Manual of Style.

Global Issues in Context (Gale): Offers entries from reference books plus magazine/newspaper articles. All results are already in full text. When typing in a search, add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, on the top right-hand corner of each entry, click the Citation Tools link, then in the Choose Citation Format menu, click on Chicago 16th Edition.

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO): Periodicals, primary sources, & entries from reference books.

On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO): Focuses on military/government periodicals.

On the search screen, first click on the Full Text box below the search fields, then type in your topics; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the Cite button on top of the article, then choose Chicago/Turabian: Humanities. 

New York Times - Historical (ProQuest): Reprints newspaper articles from 1923 to present, including 1945 ones written immediately after the atomic bombings.

Always click on the Full Text box below the search field before typing in your search; add at least one other term after "Atomic Bomb" for specific results, such as "Japan," "Hiroshima," "Nagasaki," and/or "radiation."

NOTE: To make a Chicago-style citation, click the "Cite" link on the top right-hand corner, then in the Citation Style menu, choose Chicago 16th Edition (Notes and Bibliography). 

Websites

Subject Guide

Polk State College is committed to equal access/equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment. For additional information, visit polk.edu/equity.